Alchemist vs the Green Mist

By Civatateo, in Talisman Rules Questions

Rules question:

On the Alchemist's turn, he drew the Green Mist. The Green Mist says: A strange vapour corrodes all of your equipment. Discard all your Armour and Weapons. The Green Mist then dissipates to the discard pile. After announcing this, he immediately announces he is going to convert all his equipment to gold (as that is an Alchemist ability.)

Is this legal to do before the effect of the Green Mist?

Civatateo said:

Rules question:

On the Alchemist's turn, he drew the Green Mist. The Green Mist says: A strange vapour corrodes all of your equipment. Discard all your Armour and Weapons. The Green Mist then dissipates to the discard pile. After announcing this, he immediately announces he is going to convert all his equipment to gold (as that is an Alchemist ability.)

Is this legal to do before the effect of the Green Mist?

Yes this is perfectly legal. Before encountering any card a player may use an ability or cast a Spell, if he so wishes.

Ell.

no.

in this case the event of the card trigger before the ability of th character.

the faq says:

the order of event trigger in order of the draw card.

in the same ways:

if i play a spell which destry every object about the alchemist in the alchemist turn, it can't converter it's object in money becouse the spell trigger for the first.

pg8 said:

no.

in this case the event of the card trigger before the ability of th character.

the faq says:

the order of event trigger in order of the draw card.

Are you saying the Green Mist card was in play BEFORE the Alchemist card? The example presented is no different to Druid being allowed to change his alignment before meeting say Mephistopheles or Angel. Both abilities have no timing, they are "at will" powers.

"Q1: If the Druid draws an Event which affects alignment,
can he immediately alter his alignment to gain benefit
from the card?
A: Yes." (FAQ, p. 4)

Looks legal to me that the Alchemist may change his armour and weapons into gold before encountering the green mist.

Characters can also ditch their objects before encountering the green mist.

It's the same idea as the Druid.

Was that a newbie trying to contradict my answer?! Oh well he will learn lol Jon and myself were heavily involved in the design of the rules. It was quite funny as Jon was always being the devil's advocate on certain complex rule queries (we enjoyed it)!

Ell.

it's more funny if i can delete all objet of the alchemist, just immagine the face of the player wich lost the possibility to convert object in money.

we prefer play in this way:

it's cruellest

This would be a funny scenario:

The Alchemist rolls a 2 for his movement on the Tavern. He decides to go to the Ruins. The Dark Denizens card was drawn earlier, and there is one dungeon card left on top of the deck. He draws the two cards. He finds the green mist event, as well as the fool's gold event, under it.

What a nice surprise that would be.