qq more noob!
Hey Guys! Rules Help
Me and a friend playing.
1) I have Rhaegar Targaryen out,
2) me and an opponent both use Valar, he wins initiative due to less power.
3) He saids I go first(hence my Valar acts first)
4) Rhaegar is killed...his response(After Rhaegar Targaryen is killed, end the current round, proceed to the next plot phase. Any player can trigger this response.)
What happens now? Does his characters NOT have to be killed due to the current round "ending", or does he still have to kill his characters because Valar Revealed still goes off? The verbage on the card is very vague and I would love an opinion on this rule.
If his characters do live, I'm assuming if I kill Rhaegar first, than my other characters would still be there?
THANKS A MILLION!
Hey all, used to play GoT back in the Westeros days, good to come back to the game again.
I have a follow up question to the one Mark posted above. Is there a timing window for narrow Escape to be played after Rheagar bites it in the scenario detailed above?
All of the characters will die simultaneously to Valar, so both yours and your opponents characters will be gone, even with Rhaegar's ability.
Sadly, since his ability immediately ends the round, there's no window for Narrow Escape to be played.
Staton said:
He sure is. Although he doesn't see nearly enough play, imo.
I just made the first rough draft of my newest joust deck, and you better believe he is a x1.
melnick said:
2) me and an opponent both use Valar, he wins initiative due to less power.
3) He saids I go first(hence my Valar acts first)
4) Rhaegar is killed...his response(After Rhaegar Targaryen is killed, end the current round, proceed to the next plot phase. Any player can trigger this response.)
What happens now?
1. Keep in mind that the person who wins initiative chooses the First Player, then the First Player chooses the order in which all "when revealed" plots will resolve. Plots do not necessarily start with the First Player and go clockwise. So, when you "He saids I go first," did you mean that he chose you to be First Player, or that he chose himself to be First Player and made your plot go first? Anyway, keep in mind that the First Player can always choose for an opponent's plot to resolve before his own. That's part of the First Player privilege.
2. You have to complete the entire effect before you can Respond to any part of it. So if an effect kills characters A, B, and C, there is no opportunity to interrupt the resolution of that kill and Respond to character A being killed before that effect also kills characters B and C. There are no interrupts, stacks, chains, or LIFO things to deal with in this game (other than than the rare canceling cancels situation). Rhaegar's Response cannot be used before the Valar that kills him resolves completely - killing all other characters in the process.
3. Also keep in mind that you will not be able to trigger any Response effects (other than save/cancel Responses) related to one plot's text until all plots have resolved. So when Rhaegar dies from the first Valar, the second Valar - or any other "when revealed" plot - must be resolved (completely) before you can use the Response to Rhaegar (or any character) being killed. All plots are resolved at the same time in the same timing window - which has just one "Response" step - so you hold and Responses to plot #1 until plot #2 is resolved, then you can respond to anything in any order.
thanks ktom. that really clears it up. We ran into that situation a couple of times since picking the cards back up last week, and had a few lively debates on the topic.