What do these new keywords mean?
Stalwart?
Deadly?
Infamy?
etc?
thanks I'm ready to take challenges if anyone wants a game...good to see some old faces here too
What do these new keywords mean?
Stalwart?
Deadly?
Infamy?
etc?
thanks I'm ready to take challenges if anyone wants a game...good to see some old faces here too
I take it that you don't actually own the core set, because these are explained in the Core set rules. This isn't the exact wording, but it'll get you through for now.
Stalwart: When this character would be killed, it instead goes to the top of its owner's deck.
Vigilant: When a player wins a challenge as the attacker, they can then stand all characters they control with the keyword Vigilant.
Vengeful: When a player loses a challenge as the defender, they can then stand all characters they control with the keyword Vengeful.
Infamy: Whenever a player would claim power or move power to their house card, they may instead place that power on any number of characters with the keyword Infamy.
Intimidate: If a character with the keyword Intimidate is attacking, all participating characters with less STR count their STR as 0.
Ambush: You may play a card with Ambush by paying its cost with influence instead of gold, and and if you do you can play it any time you could play an event card.
Oh, Deadly too?
Deadly: After a challenge resolves, if the attacking player has more participating characters with the Deadly keyword than the defending player, the defending player must choose and kill one defending character.
thank you so much...how about shadows? coming out of shadow?
Oy, shadows is quite complicated, so I do recommend that you see a FAQ or other supplement to augment this knowledge, but here's the nuts and bolts:
When you play a card with the shadows crest from your hand, you pay 2 gold and put them down facedown. They are not in play, as in they generally can't be targeted, killed, etc. At the beginning of each phase is a framework action where each player, beginning with the first player, may choose to bring one of their cards out of shadows. If a player chooses to do so, they pay the gold cost of the card, flip it face up, and put it into their play area. Uniques cannot be brought out of shadows if there is another copy in your dead pile, and if there is another copy in play when they are brought out of shadows, it just latches on as a duplicate.
Mmmm i would go to the support page in this site. There you can download all the rules....they are a good read (it's more difficult to understand this than shakespeare xD).
Anyway, for questions about the rules you are going to always get a response here.
Cheers
thank you again you guys.
In terms of tournament legality...how can I build decks, considering I want them to be 1v1 non multiplayer...which sets may i use ?
This is also explained in the official FAQ (someone else will have to direct you), but every single LCG set is legal. There are two cards that are outright banned (Compelled by the Rock, Jaqen H'ghar (core set)) and a small list of restricted cards which I don't know off the top of my head. Restricted meaning, you can only put one card on the restricted list in your deck. You may have up to 3 copies of any card in your main deck. You must have at least 60 cards. I think that's about it.
Small quibble: Jaqen is not in the Core Set. He's in the chapter pack Sacred Bonds. The other banned card, Compelled by the Rock, is in Calling the Banners.
You guys are the best!
Im finding ways now to build my decks...Baratheon Character Lite With Mance Rayder seems like a strong deck!
Question: Are copies of characters considered attachments to me being able to use cards that "discard an attachment" on a duplicate of a unique character?
Nope. Duplicates are no longer considered attachments. Duplicates are only duplicates. The only cards that can hit them are Wintertime Marauders and the new Ser Axel Florent.
Hey Guys Thanks!
Opponent: Plays Rule By Decree
Me: Plays: Retaliation
I win initiative and have a Golden Tooth Mines In Play. I read the rules but they are convoluded.
"After the plot cards are revealed, ?rst determine who wins the initiative"
Does Golden Tooth Mines Go off before or after Rule By Decree's effect goes off...iw as under the impression if I win intiative, and my opponent goes first, Rule By Decree goes off FOLLOWED by my golden tooth mines.
Thoughts?
Can you play duplicates of uniques as attachments during setup?
thanks!
melnick said:
Hey Guys Thanks!
Opponent: Plays Rule By Decree
Me: Plays: Retaliation
I win initiative and have a Golden Tooth Mines In Play. I read the rules but they are convoluded.
"After the plot cards are revealed, ?rst determine who wins the initiative"
Does Golden Tooth Mines Go off before or after Rule By Decree's effect goes off...iw as under the impression if I win intiative, and my opponent goes first, Rule By Decree goes off FOLLOWED by my golden tooth mines.
Thoughts?
All 'when revealed' abilities of plots go off before anything else can go off, so first Rule By Decree, then GTM.
You can play two of the same unique during setup, but you have to pay gold for both of them, and as soon as you flip them one attaches to the other as a dupe.
melnick reminds me of when I was first learning how to play the game as he is asking many of the questions I had. Even after reading the rules and the FAQ, I still had to ask a lot of the questions I can find answers to in those documents. It's so easy to overlook a lot of those minor details!
melnick - If you haven't read the FAQ yet, I recommend doing so. At a minimum, go to the last few pages of it to read some of the questions that are asked about specific cards and some of those answers should shed some light on a lot of things!
DieMyDarling said:
melnick said:
Hey Guys Thanks!
Opponent: Plays Rule By Decree
Me: Plays: Retaliation
I win initiative and have a Golden Tooth Mines In Play. I read the rules but they are convoluded.
"After the plot cards are revealed, ?rst determine who wins the initiative"
Does Golden Tooth Mines Go off before or after Rule By Decree's effect goes off...iw as under the impression if I win intiative, and my opponent goes first, Rule By Decree goes off FOLLOWED by my golden tooth mines.
Thoughts?
All 'when revealed' abilities of plots go off before anything else can go off, so first Rule By Decree, then GTM.
You can play two of the same unique during setup, but you have to pay gold for both of them, and as soon as you flip them one attaches to the other as a dupe.
Wait. What?! You can play multiple copies of the same unique in set up?!
DieMyDarling said:
You can play two of the same unique during setup, but you have to pay gold for both of them, and as soon as you flip them one attaches to the other as a dupe.
Not true.
Rules say:
"You may only place one card with the “Limited” keyword during this
step and you may not place duplicates of unique cards"
kauai1964 said:
DieMyDarling said:
You can play two of the same unique during setup, but you have to pay gold for both of them, and as soon as you flip them one attaches to the other as a dupe.
Not true.
Rules say:
"You may only place one card with the “Limited” keyword during this
step and you may not place duplicates of unique cards"
But that's not what DieMyDarling is saying. You can't place a dupe -- i.e. not "paying" the gold cost and attaching it to its counterpart -- but you can "pay" the gold cost and place two of the same card. I'm not 100% sure Die is correct, but you can Ambush in a dupe or bring a dupe out of Shadows, so I think it should work.
alpha5099 said:
Think of a similar example: Attachment restrictions must be met on Setup attachments, right? This means that you cannot place a Chain and an Apprentice Collar, along with a non-Maester, during Setup in anticipation everything coming out legal when the cards are actually flipped over and revealed.
When you consider that along with the Setup clarification that "no dupes can be placed" and "only 1 Limited card can be placed" during Setup, it's pretty clear that all normal restrictions are going to apply during Setup. So you really shouldn't be allowed to place 2 copies of the same unique card - even if you pay for them both - in anticipation of the situation coming out legal when the cards are actually flipped over and revealed.
Or another way to look at it: Remember in all those "put into play" situations where a unique becomes a dupe on a copy already in play, it is always considered to enter play as a dupe . It does not enter play as a character with the same title, then become a dupe. The rules specifically forbid you to place dupes - ie, place cards during Setup such that one of them enters play (upon being revealed) as a dupe. And because the second copy will enter play as a dupe, there is no practical or (game) mechanical difference between "I pay 2 of my 5 Setpup gold to place these 2 copies of a cost-2 unique; one as a character and one as a dupe on it" and "I pay 4 of my 5 Setup gold for the two copies of this cost-2 unique; when we reveal, one of them will become a dupe on the other."
By both the spirit and letter of the rules, it doen't work. Wait until Marshaling to put in the dupe.
Guess I was wrong. Again.
Thanks Guys!
Rhaegar...is he legal for play??
He sure is. Although he doesn't see nearly enough play, imo.
Thanks Staton-
Plot Cards: Besides for Plot cards that state 1 per plot deck and you may run 2 copies...can other plot cards be ran with 2 copies?
Thanks
FYI: I read the FAQ 5 times...still no answers to these ;p
Nope, still only 1. Valar still says limit one per plot deck because they didn't change the wording when they sent it to the printer.
Staton said:
He sure is. Although he doesn't see nearly enough play, imo.
WTB moar Noble love for Targ since they are actually Noble unlike the dirty Usurpers and their dirty Lapcats.