Channeling Specialization: Overchanneling

By Necrozius, in WFRP Rules Questions

I'm playing in a campaign with pre-generated characters (made by the DM).

My Wizard has the following Specialization:

Channeling: Overchanneling.

What constitutes Overchanneling, exactly?

At first glance, I figured that it meant that if your Wizard already has more than double his Willpower bonus in Power points, and tries to channel for MORE power, this constitutes Overchanneling, meaning he'd get an extra Fortune die in the attempt.

However, what bothers me is that the other Wizards in the party (it is a wizard only campaign) each have Channeling: Their Order of magic. SO, they'd get the extra fortune die in their attempt as well, which makes my specialization kind of sh*tty.

AM I reading this specialization correctly? What on earth would be the benefit? Can you have more that one specialization "stack" for each skill? Meaning that if I got another specialization for this skill, I could choose My Order of magic and then have 2 dice for channeling?

If not, then I'll politely explain to my DM that this is a terrible rule...

I seem to be saying this a lot recently, but the specializations in the book should be ignored. What you describe is exactly the reason why.

In a situation where two specializations from a given skill apply, you should get two white die. It is somewhere stated in the Player's Guide.

Necrozius said:

I'm playing in a campaign with pre-generated characters (made by the DM).

My Wizard has the following Specialization:

Channeling: Overchanneling.

What constitutes Overchanneling, exactly?

At first glance, I figured that it meant that if your Wizard already has more than double his Willpower bonus in Power points, and tries to channel for MORE power, this constitutes Overchanneling, meaning he'd get an extra Fortune die in the attempt.

However, what bothers me is that the other Wizards in the party (it is a wizard only campaign) each have Channeling: Their Order of magic. SO, they'd get the extra fortune die in their attempt as well, which makes my specialization kind of sh*tty.

AM I reading this specialization correctly? What on earth would be the benefit? Can you have more that one specialization "stack" for each skill? Meaning that if I got another specialization for this skill, I could choose My Order of magic and then have 2 dice for channeling?

If not, then I'll politely explain to my DM that this is a terrible rule...

IMO overchanneling is anything over equalibreum so if your willpower is 4 for example 5 or more power is overchanneling so you would get the white die more often then not

angrydragon said:

IMO overchanneling is anything over equalibreum so if your willpower is 4 for example 5 or more power is overchanneling so you would get the white die more often then not

That DOES make sense.

It still sucks for me, because in this all-wizard campaign, all of the other characters have the specialization: Channeling (their own Order), so they'd get the white die anyway, while I'd only get it in a specific context.

I'll talk to the DM... It doesn't help that my character is the only one who has a Willpower less than 5, but that's another matter...

Necrozius said:

angrydragon said:

IMO overchanneling is anything over equalibreum so if your willpower is 4 for example 5 or more power is overchanneling so you would get the white die more often then not

That DOES make sense.

It still sucks for me, because in this all-wizard campaign, all of the other characters have the specialization: Channeling (their own Order), so they'd get the white die anyway, while I'd only get it in a specific context.

I'll talk to the DM... It doesn't help that my character is the only one who has a Willpower less than 5, but that's another matter...

very true as a gm i do not let wizards to specialize in there own wind becouse you can only cast one wind ...magic in warhammer is already specialized in that way.....i would let you specialize in say "rank 1"spells and the like

How do you specialize in 1 wind of magic if thats all you can cast anyway..that what i would ask you gm