Double strike and two hand weapons

By Yepesnopes, in WFRP Rules Questions

The player's guide states on page 99

Two-Handed: These weapons need to be wielded with two hands
to be effective. A character attempting to use a two-handed weapon
with just one hand suffers an additional challenge die on all
actions using that weapon, inflicts two fewer points of damage,
and adds one additional recharge token to any related actions
performed.

What do you do in case a character wields two Two-handed weapons, one on each hand? Do you add one or two challenge die to related actions like double strike? do you add one or two extra recharge tokens?

I normally wouldn't rule this way, but in this case I would do 2 challenge and 2 recharge. I'm temped to say that I'd rule that you just couldn't do the action, so doubling up seems like a compromise.

Trying to wield two weapons that are designed for two handed use is pretty gonzo. Trying to do special maneuvers that utilize both at the same time strains credulity.

Out of curiosity, did this come up in your game?

Definitely!

In my last game the Dwarf coachman failed to protect his wife from the attack of an Orc band (actually he failed to protect the entire coach, the rest of the travellers and the horses). He asked me to be able to take the path of the Slayer to which I agreed. Shorthly after, he asked me if he would be able to swing two two-hand weapons (I guess strongly influenced by the Barbarian of the computer game Diablo).

If you ask me, I don't see the point, I think for example two Morning stars are by far better (although they have CR 3 instead of CR 2)

Isn't there a "monkey-grip" like card in Omens of War that gives you such an effect?

I believe it works by allowing your player to do such a thing, but instead of adding a purple, it takes away a characteristic die (or more?).
However, if he wants to dualwield these, I think I I would do both. Add a purple, AND take away a characteristic die.

Also, make sure you use the errata version of Double Strike.

It breaks belief for me as well to do such a thing. Even if you allow for the fact that dwarfs are stronger on average than humans, they aren't twice as strong. And additionally, strong as you may be, a doublehanded weapon has a center of gravity quite different from a normal weapon. You can be as strong as you want, if that thing flies out of control and upsets your balance, the best you can hope for, is that you fly with it, eating dirt.

You may consider just not allowing the use of action cards that require dual wielding. Sure he can hold two 2-handers, but he can't do special maneuvers that were designed to be used with two small weapons.

I would just never allow a character to dual wild anything in their left hand bigger than a handweapon ... period!

With the RAW, this means if they decide to use the weapons as such, the, the greatsword becomes a 5DR, 2CR weapon, just barely better than a handweapon. Add 1 extra purple & 1 extra recharge token for using, it, and you're effectively worse off for trying to do this with just 1 weapon.

So logically/in-game there is no reason to do this because you would barely be able to use them correctly.
And power-gamery, there isn't one either, you're worse off.

To go further though, the RAW says:

You suffer 1 purple for any action using that weapon. (and other penalties)
You are using 2 weapons where this penalty applies, and therefore get 2 purple dice extra.

So at the start, it would already be 3 purple dice. I think I see a lot of critical failures in his future. All that for a slightly higher CR...

I already convince my player that wielding to Morning Stars is by far better!

Yeah, well, one of the great things about this game system is that it allows you to say yes to any absurd your players want to do, it almost makes you say yes, but it gives you the tools to do it in a way that, if the action succeeds, you are ok with it happening that way. That is what it means to me adding so much challenge dices to a roll; it would be a desperate action.

Of course, in ths case, you had reason as your ally to convince your player to try a different approach, as what he was wanting wasn't a specific absurd action, but an absurdly ongoing behaviour. He would have the chance of seeing how so if he wanted to try it anyways.

What your player has in his favour is dwarf fluff. I think there are some descriptions of Gotrek using his huge axe with just one hand... He usually uses both handed, though, so he probably doesn't have some talent that just allows him to use great weapons one handed (like power gamer Monkey Grip). He could afford one extra challenge die to swing his huge magical axe while climbing to chop some enemies, I bet.

Boehm said:

I would just never allow a character to dual wild anything in their left hand bigger than a handweapon ... period!

i would not go that far. i have a dwarf in my group who has now a strength of 6, which means he's REALLY strong. so in that case i would maybe even allow him to try and wield those 2. in the beginning he would suffer all penalties and if he succeeds at the action he might get some tokens.

once he would have gathered 5, one challenge die would be removed, once he had 10, the second one.

the recharge tokens would always remain, since it is a really hard thing to try.

but with that the character learns over time and accomplishment of such actions, how to wield 2 great weapons. and therefore at some point he gets good at it.

maybe he would make normal damage after 15 tokens....

would be funny to see how many times he would fail such checks!

Yepesnopes said:

The player's guide states on page 99

Two-Handed: These weapons need to be wielded with two hands
to be effective. A character attempting to use a two-handed weapon
with just one hand suffers an additional challenge die on all
actions using that weapon, inflicts two fewer points of damage,
and adds one additional recharge token to any related actions
performed.

What do you do in case a character wields two Two-handed weapons, one on each hand? Do you add one or two challenge die to related actions like double strike? do you add one or two extra recharge tokens?

The card states a requirement of a melee weapon in each hand, so you argue that it's possible. I'll allow a 2 handed weapon to be used in one hand if need be, but I would never allow it to be used with another melee weapon, shield or anything at all.