Can the Misdirection Spell be cast on a Character in the Inner Region to make them go back a Space & force them to retreat to the Plain of Peril.
Misdirection Spell
alboy said:
Can the Misdirection Spell be cast on a Character in the Inner Region to make them go back a Space & force them to retreat to the Plain of Peril.
Well, I'm not at home to check the card, but I hope there's some reference to die rolling in the text. You don't roll the die in the Inner Region.
Quote from Spell card . Cast on another characterat the start of his turn. the character takes his move as normal, except that you decide which direction he moves in. ls this a case for another FAQ.
alboy said:
Quote from Spell card . Cast on another characterat the start of his turn. the character takes his move as normal, except that you decide which direction he moves in. ls this a case for another FAQ.
In the Inner region you can't choose the direction except on the Plain of Peril. If you move counter-clockwise, then you have decided to Turn Back. Turning Back is a decision a player can take and can't be "misdirected" by a Spell.
But your question has an interesting implication. If you cast the Spell when a Character is about to choose his path on the Plain of Peril, are you able to force him in the direction he does not want to take. (i.e. go to Crypt if he has the Gnome?). I would say "yes"!
I've used this trick a couple times to buy an extra round.
You can indeed make him move "backwards" for one round (best move is to send them back to crypt/mines for the chance of a bad roll), BUT this does not force them to continue moving back to PoP because p. 19 specifically says that the irrevocable "turning back" only happens when a character "decides" to turn back and "has declared his intention". Misdirection doesn't trigger this.
About the misdirection..
1)does it only force the "initial" direction of a character move, of can it force subsequent road fork too?
2)can trigger the dungeon optional rule for Fleeing? (optional rule: in dungeon you must always move toward the Lord of Darkness, or declare to flee. if you declare to flee, in following turns you must always move toward the dungeon entrance until you escape)
I thought i have read it somewhere....
I think it is possible to cast that spell.
If you cast the spell on someone in the inner region, he must go back to the plain of peril..
You may not go back and then forward if you are not standing on the plain of peril..
It would be nice if someone can clarify this.
It can be really important if someone is going to the crown
Speaking with Jon, You don't have to go to the Plain of Peril if someone is casting misdirection while you are standing on the pits or vampire tower etc
So you don't trugger the rule in the rulebook