Responses and Multiple Triggers.

By DerBarchen, in 1. AGoT General Discussion

Ok so a while ago there was a thread about how if you attack with both John Snow (core) and Ghost (core) you only claim one net power because the trigger for "john snow or ghost claims a power" is wining a challenge in which one or both of them participated.

Does this "one response per one trigger" concept apply to all responses that need a trigger? Can I kneel 3 Training Vessels to give an attacking Raider +6str and discard 3 cards if I win? Is there a reason for the restriction of "one per challenge" on Superior Claim?

DerBarchen said:

Ok so a while ago there was a thread about how if you attack with both John Snow (core) and Ghost (core) you only claim one net power because the trigger for "john snow or ghost claims a power" is wining a challenge in which one or both of them participated.

Does this "one response per one trigger" concept apply to all responses that need a trigger?

In the case of Jon Snow that you describe, there is only one trigger - i.e., the challenge that is won. As you point out, it is easy to think the character (Jon or Ghost) is the trigger, so think that one challenge creates multiple triggers, but since it is winning the challenge with the characters, not the characters themselves, you need to win multiple challenges in order to get multiple triggers.

The reverse is true when you have multiple cards, even if they have the same name. For example, if you have three copies of Altar of Fire in play, each card represents a separate Response (even though the cards all have the same name and do the same thing). So when you win just one Intrigue challenge -creating just one trigger - you are able to trigger all three (separate) responses, one time each.

So, while "one Response per trigger" is a general rule, what it is really saying is that you can trigger each separate response 1 time each for any individual trigger. A single trigger can have as many responses as you like - provided that each response is on a different card.

DerBarchen said:

Can I kneel 3 Training Vessels to give an attacking Raider +6str and discard 3 cards if I win?

DerBarchen said:

Is there a reason for the restriction of "one per challenge" on Superior Claim?

how about the second sons in the 6th cp of next cycle? can i response twice after i draw 2?

Thanks Ktom, concise as ever!

db123456 said:

how about the second sons in the 6th cp of next cycle? can i response twice after i draw 2?

Yes each time you draw a card it creates an opportunity to respond. Note that it says "from a card effect" so the normal drawing two cards because of the rules does not afford you an opportunity to respond.