Forgive me if this has been asked and answered before, but can an Acolyte of Rank 2, for example, learn spells of Rank 3, and then cast them with an extra challenge die modifier? The rules mention this modifier if you cast spells of a higher rank, but I can't find any reference to actually buying the higher ranked spell with an advance, and if this is possible.
Learning spells of a higher rank
I do not have books with me but yes there is an option for this, in the basic magic book or in the one from the magic box. It is one of those "sure if you want to welcome to more challenge dice" things.
I think you mean the rules for learning spells from another order. I can't find anything about learning the spells from another rank, or if you're restricted to learning your rank or lower - just mods for casting such spells. I guess the only restriction is the general one about it costing an extra advance per rank difference to learn a spell from a higher rank.
I think the GM toolkit has some rules for casting spells above your rank.
ARGH! I said learning the spells from another rank, not casting them.
From Winds of Magic pages 33 and 34
"It is possible for apprentice wizards and acolytes to learn spells that are generally employed by more senior wizards. The practice is frowned upon, as there are dangers associated by wizards overreaching in this manner. However, some ambitious apprentices ignore the advice of their masters and secretly study the methods of casting powerful magic from grimoires in their own time. In times of need a master may see it as a justifi ed expedience to teach their apprentice powerful magic. However, such events are rare. Most apprentices abide by the wishes of their superiors and show patience.
Should a PC wizard have the inclination and opportunity to acquire the ability to cast a spell from a higher rank than he is yet to achieve it can be possible for him to do so. Apprentices are warned against learning such spells, so the character should be aware that such a course of learning is dangerous.
If the wizard ignores such warnings he can acquire such a spell if he has the advances available to do so. Keep in mind that a character can acquire spells of a higher rank, by paying one additional advance per spell rank above the character’s rank."
Cheers
UniversalHead said:
ARGH! I said learning the spells from another rank, not casting them.
I just put that in since the original question had already been answered. It costs extra advances.
It was just to put things in perspective. It may only cost extra advances, but casting can also be more difficult to balance it better.
Thanks Yepesnopes, much appreciated! Couldn't find that anywhere.