Warlock's Quest - Take 1 life and Hex Spell

By olliegeorgeclark, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hey guys,

Let's say a player has accepted the Warlock's quest to take one life from a rival player, he then casts a hex spell and places it on a space of his choosing. If a rival player then lands on this Hex spell and loses 1 life, does this count as completing the quest?

Thanks!

olliegeorgeclark said:

Hey guys,

Let's say a player has accepted the Warlock's quest to take one life from a rival player, he then casts a hex spell and places it on a space of his choosing. If a rival player then lands on this Hex spell and loses 1 life, does this count as completing the quest?

Thanks!

No losing a life to the Hex Spell does not count as completing this quest!

This quest was designed to be completed in battle or psychic combat. However with the introduction of the Life Tap Spell, it is now possible to complete the Take 1 Life quest by using this Spell, although that was not part of the design of the card!!!

Ell.

Any more opinions on this?

olliegeorgeclark said:

Any more opinions on this?

This issue was discussed during the design process of the revised 4th edition, which Jon New and myself helped develop. The Hex Spell does not count toward completing the quest!

Ell.

The Hex Spell is cast on a space not a player. It must be a direct action against a player to count. Finger of Death, Life Tap, and Soul Shatter do count as they are cast on a player and therefore are a direct action against a player!

Ell.

talismanamsilat said:

The Hex Spell is cast on a space not a player. It must be a direct action against a player to count. Finger of Death, Life Tap, and Soul Shatter do count as they are cast on a player and therefore are a direct action against a player!

Ell.

Hi - This is crystal clear, but you don't mention the Command Spell, which is also cast against a player and results in their losing a life! I'm thinking of a scenario where a player accepts a quest to take a player's life, but instead of moving directly to combat another player takes another route to the CoC (e.g. the Dungeon). In this case, the rules seem to require that as soon as they take a life using the Command Spell, they are whisked to the Warlock's Cave to be presented with a Talisman! Which is ok with me - this seems a just reward for players who take a long and leisurely approach to completing their quests...

A related question: If there is no Talisman remaining in the deck to give a player, are they teleported to the Warlock anyway (so that he can deliver the bad news face to face)? In this case, presumably the player would have to wait until a Talisman becomes available again, land on the Warlock's Cave again, and undertake a new quest. (Or try his/her luck through the Dungeon.) The alternative is that the player continues from where they are, to be teleported to the Warlock as soon as he has a Talisman to give them? I would prefer the latter, but I fear the former is the case... happy.gif

If you complete the quest, you are teleported to the Warlock and given a talisman if available. If not, you get nothing for your completed the quest!

Ell.