Rune Sword

By Rophan, in Talisman Rules Questions

I have a couple or questions relating to the Runesword.

1. If a character using the Rune Sword kills an Enemy and takes a life, can he still take the Enemy card as a trophy?

2. If the Ghoul uses the Runesword, can he take a life and collect the defeated card as a follower?

I suppose both questions have pretty much the same implication, "can a character benefit twice from a defeated enemy card?"

Thanks

Bruce

It seems clear to me that the answer is "Yes." At least that is how we have been playing. Dead is dead... what difference should it make in regards to trophies that you absorbed the lost life?

The other night when we were playing one of the guys was playing the Ghoul and ended up with the Runesword also. Another player, who had played some older versions of the game was quite sure that the Ghoul had to choose only one of:taking a life, taking a follower, or taking a trophy. I know the Ghoul's power description says that he has to choose between follower and trophy, but my reading of the Runesword card was that he could take a life regardless if he wanted to. The other player said this was not allowed because the Ghoul was benefiting twice from the same victim. Just thought I'd check here to see what others thought.

Bruce

Rophan said:

I have a couple or questions relating to the Runesword.

1. If a character using the Rune Sword kills an Enemy and takes a life, can he still take the Enemy card as a trophy?

2. If the Ghoul uses the Runesword, can he take a life and collect the defeated card as a follower?

I suppose both questions have pretty much the same implication, "can a character benefit twice from a defeated enemy card?"

Thanks

Bruce

1. Yes of course!

2. Yes. The Ghoul receives a life for defeating an Enemy with the Runesword and then has to choose whether or not to keep it as a trophy or raise the Enemy from the dead and keep it as a Follower.

This is the correct way to play with the Ghoul and the Runesword!

Ell.