Counterspelling Counterspell

By Rophan, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hi there,

I'm a Newbie to the game, and have a question about Counterspell. Player 1 casts a spell on Player 2, Player 2 responds with Counterspell. Can Player 1 also cast Counterspell to negate the first Counterspell card and restore the effects of his original spell?

Thanks,

Bruce

Rophan said:

Hi there,

I'm a Newbie to the game, and have a question about Counterspell. Player 1 casts a spell on Player 2, Player 2 responds with Counterspell. Can Player 1 also cast Counterspell to negate the first Counterspell card and restore the effects of his original spell?

Thanks,

Bruce

Oh yes perfectly fine, as long as player 1 had both Spells in his play area at the same time and he started his turn with 2 spells!

Ell.

no. counterspell is a defensive spell. it cancels effect of all other spells. maybe 'cancel' is not correct word. counterspell removes effect of other casted spells. so to say, counterspell cannot counter only another counterspell. another example: you casted transference and random spell, and whatever else damaging spell like FoD. then your oponent can block all this combo with a single counter.

next year is a year of dragon. waiting for epic talisman game tonight

gedasm said:

no. counterspell is a defensive spell. it cancels effect of all other spells. maybe 'cancel' is not correct word. counterspell removes effect of other casted spells. so to say, counterspell cannot counter only another counterspell. another example: you casted transference and random spell, and whatever else damaging spell like FoD. then your oponent can block all this combo with a single counter.

next year is a year of dragon. waiting for epic talisman game tonight

No..

Counter spell will only counter 1 spell.

Example:

Player 1 cast random

player 2 cast counterspell. it cancels the random spell.

Player 1 cast transference.

gedasm said:

no. counterspell is a defensive spell. it cancels effect of all other spells. maybe 'cancel' is not correct word. counterspell removes effect of other casted spells. so to say, counterspell cannot counter only another counterspell. another example: you casted transference and random spell, and whatever else damaging spell like FoD. then your oponent can block all this combo with a single counter.

next year is a year of dragon. waiting for epic talisman game tonight

Sorry you are incorrect! Counterspell will negate the effects of another Counterspell and Counterspell will only negate the single Spell cast before it!

Ell.

Thanks for the clarification!

Bruce

as long as it was player 1s turn else he can only cast 1 spell per turn

Another question regarding Counterspell, player A cast Toadify on player B, player B cast Counterspell, player C who is playing the Gipsy take the Counterspell and cast it to counter the Counterspell of player B, so player was turned into a toad. Did we played this correctly? That is the way we rule it.

frogemoth said:

Another question regarding Counterspell, player A cast Toadify on player B, player B cast Counterspell, player C who is playing the Gipsy take the Counterspell and cast it to counter the Counterspell of player B, so player was turned into a toad. Did we played this correctly? That is the way we rule it.

No. If the Gypsy takes a Spell from the discard pile, she cannot immediately cast it to prevent another Spell from working. In other words, the Gypsy must already hold a Spell to negate the affects of another Spell just cast.

Ell.

Ok, thanks for the clarification!

talismanamsilat said:

No. If the Gypsy takes a Spell from the discard pile, she cannot immediately cast it to prevent another Spell from working. In other words, the Gypsy must already hold a Spell to negate the affects of another Spell just cast.

Ell.

This was a bit surprising to me, and I would appreciate if you could help me with my two questions:

1. Is it specified in the rules or tha faq somewhere? (because I cannot seem to find it)

2. Does this mean that you are only allowed to cast spells that you have at the beginning of your turn?

/ M

Mandosen said:

talismanamsilat said:

No. If the Gypsy takes a Spell from the discard pile, she cannot immediately cast it to prevent another Spell from working. In other words, the Gypsy must already hold a Spell to negate the affects of another Spell just cast.

Ell.

This was a bit surprising to me, and I would appreciate if you could help me with my two questions:

1. Is it specified in the rules or tha faq somewhere? (because I cannot seem to find it)

2. Does this mean that you are only allowed to cast spells that you have at the beginning of your turn?

/ M

1. From page 13 of the rulebook: 'Once a spell is cast and its effect has ended, it is placed on the Spell Card discard pile.' Player A casts Toadify and Player B casts Counterspell. The Counterspell negates the effect of Toadify and then the Spell is placed on the discard pile. Player C (Gypsy) decides to take the Counterspell. Finally Player A and player B resolve the battle!

2. No. That is not what I was saying!

Ell.

"And its effect has ended"

Those words just slipped me by, but makes a lot of differens.

Thanks Ell!

/ Magnus