Does the Cursed Glade effect last until you move away?

By Nioreh, in Talisman Rules Questions

The Cursed glade space reads "Strength and Craft derived from Objects and Magic Objects does not count on this space, nor may you use Magic Object or Cast spells".

Now.. I've always assumed that if you encounter the cursed glade you cant cast spells until you move away.

But.. If someone else attacks you there that person does not encounter the Cursed Glade (same goes for Desert) so can that person cast spells etc but not the player who is attacked? :D

If you encounter a character on the Cursed Glade, both characters can still cast spells, because you don't encounter the space.

The instructions on the Cursed Glade are only followed if a player chooses to encounter the space!!!

Ell.

Well durrrrrrr, the first person landing there has already encountered the space. And Im guessing he cant use his spells until he moves away, right?

Once a character has completed his turn in the Cursed Glade, the restrictions for the space no longer apply and the character may start using Spells and Magic Objects again! Therefore if another player attacks a character on the Cursed Glade, neither character has any restrictions upon them.

Elliott.

talismanamsilat said:

Once a character has completed his turn in the Cursed Glade, the restrictions for the space no longer apply and the character may start using Spells and Magic Objects again! Therefore if another player attacks a character on the Cursed Glade, neither character has any restrictions upon them.

Elliott.

Ell, I thought the restrictions of the place apply till the character moved away

see page 13 main rule book example

"example of spell limit

A wizard with craftvalue 5 with solomons crown (a magic object which add 2 to his craft) sohis craft is effectivley 7. This allow him three spells, which he has aquired.

He lands on the Cursed Glade, where he cannot count craft from magic objects, His craft frops to 5. He now only allowed 2 spells, so he must immediatley discard One.

As soon as he leaves the Cursed Glade he can count the craft for solomons crown "

Note, as soon as he leaves,

so not when someone else lands on him, the original character if under the penalty of the place, is still under the penalty until they move, the new character suffers no penalty as they are not encountering the place, but encountering the character.

this would also apply to graveyard and chappel