Saar Space Dock- Transfer action?

By Relampagos, in Twilight Imperium 3rd Edition

Saar Space Dock – Transfer action?

1. Can the Saar space dock move using a transfer action?
2. If “yes”, can the following scenario take place… Space dock is in system (A). Activate the systems. Transfer ships and space dock from system (A) to system (B). Finally, build in system (B) with space dock that just moved?

Relampagos said:

1. Can the Saar space dock move using a transfer action?

Yes, I believe so. As far as I can tell, Saar SDs move as if they were ships, so unless there's a limitation on what ships can move, you're good.

Relampagos said:

2. If “yes”, can the following scenario take place… Space dock is in system (A). Activate the systems. Transfer ships and space dock from system (A) to system (B). Finally, build in system (B) with space dock that just moved?

No, other rulings have made it quite clear that a Saar SD cannot build in the same turn that it moves.

Steve-O said:

No, other rulings have made it quite clear that a Saar SD cannot build in the same turn that it moves.

Same goes for Arborec Ground Forces and Flagship btw. They can't build in the same activation they moved either.

In the original rules on page 12 it outlines the transfer action with step 2 “movement between systems”. (very generic) However, on page 14 in the larger description it says “…move friendly ships…” Of course those rules were made before the Saar existed.

The very first Saar question on the faq… “Are Saar space docks considered ships?” The answer goes on to describe how they are NOT ships.

I guess I’m looking for more opinions. I might just have to make a ruling next time we play to just say yes or no.

Relampagos said:

In the original rules on page 12 it outlines the transfer action with step 2 “movement between systems”. (very generic) However, on page 14 in the larger description it says “…move friendly ships…” Of course those rules were made before the Saar existed.

The rules for a Tactical action use the exact same language for describing movement. If a Saar SD isn't allowed to move during a Transfer action, then it isn't allowed to move in a Tactical action, either. I think it's pretty clear that they're allowed to move in a Tactical action, whether or not they are technically "ships," otherwise they wouldn't be able to move at all.

That's about as far as I'm prepared to go with this particular arguement. If you want something more official, feel free to email the game designer and ask him.