Hello, i am having some issues understanding how disengaging from combat works.
Setting, a elf scout is being mauled by a hungry squig. the scout wants to disengage and use a move maneouver to move to close range and then shoot the squig his bow. (his bow was already in hand)
So he uses a Maneouver to disenguage, a maneouver to move to close range and then an action card to shoot the squig (suffering 1 or 2 extra fatigue depending on rules/ house rules etc.) Is this correct? or does he need to use a stunt action or opposed action to disenguage?. The book says that the player must use a disenguage action in order to move out of combat or they may be attacked. So are no dice rolls involved. I may be overthinking this but it does confuse me a little.
any help would be greatly appreciated.
Bledthig
Help with Disengage Maneouver
Disengaging from an engagement is a maneuver that allows a character to safely move out of the engagement, and a second maneuver must be used to move to a location that is in close range of the engagement. Thus under normal circiumstances it takes a minimum of 1 fatigue to move from engaged to close - 1 free maneuver(disengage) and 1 extra maneuver(move to close range) costing 1 fatigue.
The next bit is what I would do if a character just spent a maneuver to move to close range of the engagement, without using the disengage maneuver. After this point is house rules, ideas, recommendations.
The first maneuver is to safely disengage without drawing attacks from engaged enemies. There are no written rules on what happens if you do not use the disengage maneuver before attempting to move to close range with a move maneuver.
I'd roll a Challenge die to see what possibilities exist:
1. For each challenge rolled, one enemy, up to the number of enemies engaged, can make a basic attack action against the active character, and if still standing the character can move to close range of the engagement.
2. For each bane rolled, the character gets one misfortune die on next action, and the character can move to close range of the engagement. (OR if two banes are rolled you could assign one fatigue)
3. On a chaos star character loses maneuver and does not disengage, and one enemy can make a basic attack action against the character. (Or character may fall prone in the engagement) (This might also end the character's turn, though that seems harsh)
Maybe if the character was stronger(higher str+athletics trained) or faster(higher agi + coordination trained) or smarter(higher int + observation trained) than ALL engaged opponents I would only roll a Misfortune die to determine the possibilities.
-Thorvid
Thorvid said:
Er... what?
I realise this is a post a month old but I've been having similar doubts on if we've been doing movement correctly but this just leaves me completely baffled. If you use the manoeuvre to disengage with the enemy aren't you at close range? You're no longer engaged so where else would you be?
Matchstickman said:
Thorvid said:
Er... what?
I realise this is a post a month old but I've been having similar doubts on if we've been doing movement correctly but this just leaves me completely baffled. If you use the manoeuvre to disengage with the enemy aren't you at close range? You're no longer engaged so where else would you be?
Yeah you're within close range, but you couldn't move to engage someone else. You disengage to close range. If you want to engage someone else that's another maneuver. So if you disengage the troll you are put to close range, but couldn't disengage the troll and then on the same maneuver engage the orc within short range. Don't know if this clears it up.
Just another thing that is easier on the grid. Disengaging is moving one square away from the enemy
Groovy.
That does clear it up, thanks!
By the way, to also clarify. You are NOT allowed to leave an engagement without using a maneuver. You MUST use a maneuver to leave an engagement (unless you are only engaged with friendlies, of course). FFG clarified this. There is no option to "disengage without using a maneuver, and suffer the consequences". Of course, as with anything you can house rule if you'd like. However, this is actually one of the few times that WFRP doesn't allow a lot of leeway. To leave an engagement, you must use a maneuver.