Seneschal, Commerce and requisition

By YokuniCat, in Rogue Trader Rules Questions

I know the seneschal ability works with commerce, and a few other skills but how does that affect requisition rolls, we are just learning the rules and I was wondering how the seneschals ability works with that. How does the commerce rules work with requisition as well ?

Sorry I am at work and trying to formulate an answer for someone without the book and I don't want to give an incorrect answer.

Don't you mean "Adquisition" instead of "Requisition"?

If that's what you mean, the Seneschal special ability only works in an indirect way, giving a boost to the opposed Commerce Test before the actual Adquisition Test.

Thats it, thank you

So a second question that I could find no answer too, if the senschal makes his commerce roll, gets 6 successes (inlcuding his free one) can his RT burn those 12 free PF as a bonus to the roll ? Sounds cheesy but one of our players has asked and nothing says no...

YokuniCat said:

So a second question that I could find no answer too, if the senschal makes his commerce roll, gets 6 successes (inlcuding his free one) can his RT burn those 12 free PF as a bonus to the roll ? Sounds cheesy but one of our players has asked and nothing says no...

No. The Commerce Test doesn't create Profit, it's just a bonus to the Adquisition Test. It's also important to note that it's an opposed Commerce Test with the selling merchant (not simple Commerce Test), the Seneschal may lose and actually get a penalty to the Adquisition roll.

Side Note:

I don't know if you know this, but the player making the actual Adquisition can also spend a Fate Point to add +10 to the roll or even to re-roll a failed result.

Personally, I wouldn't allow giving a +10 to a profit factor test - only a skill or characteristic test.

I'd allow it's use in the commerce roll, to give a +10 bonus, which may equal a +2 PF, but y'know.