Can you throw a regular grenade through smoke? I was also wondering how far the smoke spreads from a smoke grenade? In the book it says that "When thrown, place the Smoke Grenade token in the target circle, which indicates that all circles sharing a path with that circle are filled with smoke." Does this imply that only the adjacent circles are affected or the whole room or hallway?
Grenades
Smoke Grenades effect the entire path.
As far as I know if you were out side the smoke you can throw the grenade into it, but the range of a frag is five circles with only the last being out-of-path. So since you must be on a different path to be clear of the smoke you could only toss the grenade one circle into the smoke.
If your in smoke, according to FFG you can only throw a frag into an adjacent circle.
It was recently clarified by FFG that throwing a Grenade is unaffected by smoke since smoke only affects attacks. It's in the topic "Rules questions, and answers from FFG". So just throw your Grenade following the normal rules for throwing Grenades.
And just to further explain the area filled with smoke after you used your Smoke grenade: All circles sharing any path with the target circle are filled with smoke. That is, if you throw your Smoke grenade into a circle belonging to 3 different pathes, all 3 pathes are completely filled with smoke.
??! said:
It was recently clarified by FFG that throwing a Grenade is unaffected by smoke since smoke only affects attacks. It's in the topic "Rules questions, and answers from FFG". So just throw your Grenade following the normal rules for throwing Grenades.
So this FAQ is obsolete?
"If a character is on a path under the effects of smoke, he
may only target adjacent circles for his grenade. The number of
successes caused by the grenade is not reduced, so it will still
deal 4 automatic successes. If a character throws a grenade
from a path not affected by smoke, to a circle that is affected
by smoke, the grenade still deals all 4 automatic successes."
I looked it up on my list of offical answers.
33: Smoke Grenade rules: "Any character standing on a circle filled with smoke can only attack targets in adjacent circles" From the FAQ: "Q: How do Grenades interact with Smoke Grenades? A: If a character is on a path under the effects of smoke, he may only target adjacent circles for his grenade." But when you throw a grenade you are not making an attack.
Answer: This is correct. Throwing a grenade does not constitute making an attack so it would not be affected by the smoke grenade. The FAQ will be update to reflect this.
Here is a link to the article on my blog where i posted all these thing: http://miah000.blogspot.com/2011/09/questions-and-answers.html
I forget to check all these and tend to fall back on the current FAQ although it is now way out of date, the other problem is this list contdicts itself, and new answers have made it also out of date.
So right now ??! is right lets hope FFG doesn't flip flop on this like they did on Doom and smoke.
My answer was based on the official answer Miah just quoted. I chose that one instead of the ruling in the FAQ because it is quite new, it specifically mentions and contradicts the older ruling AND it doesn't contradict the rules concerning Smoke grenades which affect only attacks. So the new answer makes more sense if you consider the rules regarding Smoke grenades. I really hope FFG won't contradict it again. And I really, really hope that FFG will release a new, updated FAQ that includes and clears up some of the recent questions and answers soon. By the way, I' ve been waiting for some official answers for weeks (even months) now!