Question about revealing Objectives.

By booored, in The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game

So I have always been playing, if you draw an encounter card and it is a objective with the keyword word "guarded", you draw a 2nd encounter card to place on top of it.. if THAT card is also a objective card with "guarded" you place it next to the original objective card in the staging area and now you draw a new encounter card and place it on the 1st objective card, as the guard then draw a 2nd encounter card and place it on the 2nd objective card. So you end up with 2 objective cards with a guard on each in the staging area.

So that is how I play, but I was playing a multiplayer with a mate and he had a different way to play this but I couldn't find a rule to contradict him...

He would do it like this...

you draw and encounter card, it is an objective card with "guarded" so you now have to draw a new encounter card, this is also an objective card, it is placed ON the original objective as the "guard"/"condition" you need to pass to claim the original objective card. You now draw a new encounter card and place that on the 2nd objective as its guard. So... you end up with a stack of three cards, objective,objective,guard. Now you need to clear the guard, then claim the objective, and that now, clears it so you can get the next objective.,.. So in HFG for example you can only claim objectives on a successful quest, so this makes you have to quest twice, once to claim the unguarded 2nd objective (after the guard is removed), and that then frees the 2nd objective to be claimed next quest phase.

I still think my way is correct, but as I said.. is there a rule that addresses this? Cause we couldn't find it last night.


Your way is correct.

From the rulebook:

"If another objective card comes up
while attaching a card for the guarded keyword, place
the second objective in the staging area, and use the
next card of the encounter deck to fulfill the original
keyword effect."

this is how i play it....is this wrong then??

1st guarded comes up- draw another card to gaurd it

2nd guarded comes up you place that next to the 1st, HOWEVER the 1st objective remains unguarded

then draw another card to gaurd the 2nd objective

edit: i just re read the rules on this and ive no idea why i was playing it the above way..oh well

It's like this. Card 1 and Card 2 are objective cards, each with Guarded.

Card 1 comes up - Guarded triggers on card 1.

Card 2 comes up as the guard.

Card 3 guards Card 1.

Guarded triggers on Card 2.

Card 4 guards Card 2.

radiskull said:

It's like this. Card 1 and Card 2 are objective cards, each with Guarded.

Card 1 comes up - Guarded triggers on card 1.

Card 2 comes up as the guard.

Card 3 guards Card 1.

Guarded triggers on Card 2.

Card 4 guards Card 2.

cheers man, glad i got that rule finally sorted out