Mirror Computing Questions

By Magesmiley, in Twilight Imperium 3rd Edition

So... a couple of questions came up about the Mentak racial tech Mirror Computing that seemed to be worthy of a post:

1. When executing the primary ability of Technology II, if I take Mirror Computing as my first technology, do my trade goods count as 2 for purchasing an additional technology? This seems like it should be a yes, but it is nice to be sure.

2. When using the alternate strategy cards, if I have Mirror Computing and opt to spend a political card as a trade good, does it provide 2 resources/influence? This one is a bit murkier and not obvious which way it should work.

Magesmiley said:

So... a couple of questions came up about the Mentak racial tech Mirror Computing that seemed to be worthy of a post:

1. When executing the primary ability of Technology II, if I take Mirror Computing as my first technology, do my trade goods count as 2 for purchasing an additional technology? This seems like it should be a yes, but it is nice to be sure.

Well, since the rules state that the first tech may be used as a prerequisite for the second (which would indicate that the first tech is applied immediatley), I'd say that it would be legal to do as you describe. (Shattered Empire Rulebook Page 16 - middle column, second paragraph, second sentence to be exact...)

Magesmiley said:

2. When using the alternate strategy cards, if I have Mirror Computing and opt to spend a political card as a trade good, does it provide 2 resources/influence? This one is a bit murkier and not obvious which way it should work.

This one is, as you say, a bit murkier.
If one wants to be a nitpicker and strictly follow the letter of the rules, I'd have to say no since the tech specifically states "When you spend Trade Goods ..." and TG's are TG's and not PC's.
I myself would, however, let the Mentaks get the double worth for PC's as well, keeping in line with the spirit of the tech rather than it's specific wording.

Magesmiley said:

So... a couple of questions came up about the Mentak racial tech Mirror Computing that seemed to be worthy of a post:

1. When executing the primary ability of Technology II, if I take Mirror Computing as my first technology, do my trade goods count as 2 for purchasing an additional technology? This seems like it should be a yes, but it is nice to be sure.

2. When using the alternate strategy cards, if I have Mirror Computing and opt to spend a political card as a trade good, does it provide 2 resources/influence? This one is a bit murkier and not obvious which way it should work.

1. Yes, as soon as you purchase your first tech it goes into effect and can be used to purchase the second tech.

2. I would say political cards do not work for mirror computing. The wording on political cards is "A player may, at any time, discard a Political Card from his or her hand instead of spending a Trade Good." The wording doesn't say the political card is treated as if it were a trade good, it is just discarded instead of spending a trade good.