Stand Together: how does it actually work?

By Bungo_Underhill, in The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game

Stand Together 0
[Event]
Action: Choose a player. That player may declare any number of his eligible characters as defenders against each enemy attacking him this phase.

If a player defends with multiple characters what does this mean in terms of the rules?
I take it we add our defenses together?
Am I free to split damage dealt how I like between any of the defenders?

e.g. if Gimli & Gondorian Spearman defended together agaist a cave troll would that be 3 damage (6 -2 -1) and I could choose to deal it all to Gimili? Could I choose to deal it all to the spearman (even though he has less HPs than the total damage)?

Anyone got an answer?

Yes, that is right.

So far stand together is the ONLY situation were you add card values like you do when using multiple attackers on a single target. So just add the defense values of the cards.

It is worth noting that this dose NOT work on sentinel toons when you wish to defend a attack on one of your team mate as it says on the card "That player may declare any number of his eligible characters as defenders against each enemy attacking him this phase." Key words here are "attacking him (the player the card is cast on)"

Yes, you combine their defense strength together and deal damage to only ONE of defenders.

Interesting does responses of every defender triggers? E.g. if I defend with 3 Gondorian Spearmen will they deal 3 damage to attacker?

Thanks guys - can you let me know where this ruling is from? I can't see anything in the rule book that deals with this.

Also Am I allowed to distribute damage as I like?

For example if I defened against the troll with Veteran Axehands could I deal one damage to each of them leaving them all alive?

Damage is applied to only one character I'm afraid, clarified in the errata/FAQ

"(1.04) Damage and Multiple Defenders
If a player uses card effects to declare multiple
defenders against a single enemy attack, the defending
player must assign all damage from that attack to a
single defending character."

Here's the link to the FAQ, if you haven't found it yet: www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/lotr-lcg/support/LOTR_FAQ_1.2.pdf .

Regarding triggered actions, I see no reason why they shouldn't trigger. I didn't think very much about this card as I see it as almost completly useless, but three spearmen combined sounds like a good idea.