Adventure Cards and Spells Timing

By EvilEdwin, in Talisman Rules Questions

We had a situation occur in our last game were the Guru was drawn in the Highlands on a single draw space. At the time the player who drew the Guru had his full compliment of Spells. Another player argued that he should be able to cast a spell before encountering the Guru, thus being able to get another spell from him.

His argument went like this:

1) First you draw cards as indicated by the space.

2) You sort the cards according to the number order that you'll encounter them in.

3) You encounter the cards.

Therefore, he argued, you should be able to casts spells after your draw the cards, or after you sort the cards, but before you encounter them.

Personally I think this is completely wrong and open to so much abuse.

As it turned out the original player didn't want to use the Guru anyway, so an argument was avoided.

What are your thoughts on this one?

If a character has already his full compliment of spells, and draws the guru, then he can't get new spells from him, unless that character can cast a spell before he encounter the guru.

But that's a choice that the player can make for himself.

Wording is important happy.gif

It depends what the spell card says..

If you had a spell that you could cast within the sequence I listed above, it doesn't matter what the spell is, is it legal to do so? Or is there no available casting slot between drawing a card and encountering? I guess what I'm asking is could you "interrupt" the Guru encounter by casting a spell, therefore being able to draw a new spell.

EvilEdwin said:

If you had a spell that you could cast within the sequence I listed above, it doesn't matter what the spell is, is it legal to do so? Or is there no available casting slot between drawing a card and encountering? I guess what I'm asking is could you "interrupt" the Guru encounter by casting a spell, therefore being able to draw a new spell.

I would allow it in my games, that you can cast a spell, if it can be legally cast before you activate the encounter with the guru.

The rule about the druid with his allignment is similar. he can change his allignment after he draws the cards, but before he encounters it.

In this manner, he can see if it is worth to change his alignment.

The same would be if you draw demi god. it allows you to pick a spell from the spell deck.

If you can cast a spell before you activate the demi god, then you can benefit from the card.

BUT there are a lot of spell cards, that says start of turn, or after you have move etc. those spells cannot be cast then.

It all depends what the spell card says.

Thanks Velhart.

When you put it in context with the Druid's ability it makes sense. If the Druid can change his Alignment in response to an upcoming card, then it seems a little unfair to not allow a Spell to be cast. Obviously as you said it depends on the Spell's restrictions though.

Thanks.

No problems with what you are suggesting, just so long as the Spell allows you to cast it at that time before encountering the Guru!

Ell.