The "Revealed" State

By Circadia, in 1. AGoT General Discussion

I think this may have been resolved before but I can't find it for the life of me.

When a card is revealed but not played or put into play, does it's status as a "revealed" card preclude its origin state? Or is it like the moribund state, where the card is still in whatever state it was when made moribund and can thus still be acted upon, but is destined for another state in the final stage of the action window?

As an example, I play City of Spies to reveal 2 cards from the top of an opponents deck. I choose to discard one and put the other back. I have a Motley Crewman in play. Does the card I just put back on top get discarded, i.e. was the card I chose to discard taken from the top of the deck, or from a separate "revealed" state thus preventing the MC's effect from occurring?

Sounds like a fantastic question for the rules forum.

It is a great question for the rules forum, but just to get it out of the way, revealed does not move the card from anywhere to anywhere, it just goes from a "face down" state (or "hidden") to "face up" state (or "revealed")... so yes it gets discarded.

Apologies, my fingers work faster than my brain. Useful in some situations, but not others.