Beastman Fetish question

By Toscadero, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

I have a few questions on Beastman Fetish. The card says "Once during your turn you may reroll a single die". The FAQ says that you may "reroll a single die rolled by any player during your turn".

1. Is turn defined by when I take my actions? This is the way we have been playing it.

2. If I kill an undying creature and the Overlord rolls a surge, I can be reroll this?

3. Can this be used during a guard action or to reroll against Dark Charm?

4. Can it be used when rolling for treasure in RTL dungeons?

Thanks.

1) From when you declare you are activating your character to when you finish your half-actions and any abilities.

2) Sure sounds like it to me.

3) No, as those are during the overlord's turn, not your own.

4) Should be able to if you are the one who triggered the acquisition of the treasure (I've not played RTL, so I don't know the details).

I agree with Raj's answers on all counts.

Regarding #4, it shouldn't matter who opens the chest since the FAQ clarifies you may reroll other player's dice as well, however, it is unlikely (possibly impossible) for another hero to open a chest during your turn, so there you go.

Note that treasure chest rolls are made 'by the party', not a player as such, so your OL might have a legitimate complaint if you tried that.
Sure, probably a player will make the roll, but technically it is not something that any particular hero or the OL does, so it's dubious whether 'a player' is technically making the roll.

For example, you could have a non-player (say a child, or spouse) make any rolls on behalf of a player and technically avoid the Beastman Fetish reroll. Now clearly any roll made by a hero or the OL is supposed to be being made by that player, so avoiding the fetish by that sort of technical detail seems to me to be the worst sort of gamesmanship. But a treasure chest roll is not supposed to be made by a player (though of course it will be usually), but by the party, so you can't say 'really the child is just substituting for the player' in the same way.

Summary:
I don't think you should use the Beastman Fetish reroll on a treasure chest roll.

Respectfully disagree on number 2). Re-roll means you rolled it in the first place. The overlord rolls the surge dice, so there's nothing there to "RE" roll.

Disclaimer: I'm Toscadero's OL :)

Reading for the win, my apologies. I guess it gets down to the definition of "Player."

Also remember that a die can only be rerolled once. So if you use an aim order you cannot use the fetish to reroll a die you rerolled with the aim order.

also, you can use the fetish to cancel a reroll for a single die from a dodge order or card placed by the ol just like aim and dodge cancel each other.

batlkat said:

Respectfully disagree on number 2). Re-roll means you rolled it in the first place. The overlord rolls the surge dice, so there's nothing there to "RE" roll.

??? sad.gif The overlord roll a dice and he obtains a surge, so he can repeat that roll. What do you not understand?

In the next post I apologized for not reading it properly. I didn't see any way to edit or remove that statement or I would have.

batlkat said:

In the next post I apologized for not reading it properly. I didn't see any way to edit or remove that statement or I would have.

Me too sonrojado.gif