Dragon Lore

By Velhart, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hi eveyone,

I just saw this dragon object in the spoilers, and it is weird to me, that in the rules, the prophetess cannot use her orb of prophesy on dragon cards, but with this object, you can still discard the first card that you draw, and accept the second card. preocupado.gif

DRAGON LORE - Magic Object
* Whenever you draw Dragon Cards, you may discard one card of your choice that you do not wish to encounter and draw one more card from the same deck to replace it, which you must encounter.
* If you are defeated by a Cultist, you must ditch the Dragon Lore.

Greetings,

Velhart

As ever, cards may be the exception to the rules :)

EvilEdwin said:

As ever, cards may be the exception to the rules :)

I know, but i just want to mention it lengua.gif

I think that FFG made this rule with the prophetess ability, because it is otherwise to easy for her to draw dragon cards.

Yus, the Prophetess is a bit of a card drawing power monster! One of my personal favourites :)

The Orb of Prophecy would still work though, since the restriction is only on Character abilities I belive.

Well, they are also talking about effects, and the orb of prophesy is a effect that is used for adventure cards.

I am not sure, but it seems that it cannot work.

However, the dragon lore is used for dragon cards, so that will ignore the rules

Maybe i am wrong, but maybe someone can clarify this. elliot perhaps..

PS: thanks for adding me gui%C3%B1o.gif

No, you're right. For some reason I thought it was only character abilities. So Orb doesn't work!

P.S. NP :)

The rules clearly states that dragon cards does not count as adventure cards until they have been drawn and placed on the board. Therefor the Prophetess and the Sages abilities does not work on the dragon cards.

Although the Dragon lore works as it is stated on the card that it only works on dragon cards, not ordinary adventure cards...

Nidhögg said:

The rules clearly states that dragon cards does not count as adventure cards until they have been drawn and placed on the board. Therefor the Prophetess and the Sages abilities does not work on the dragon cards.

But the Philosopher's does. So when your opponent is toaded by the Dragon Toad, you can land on that space, discard the DT, draw something else and grab all his goodies...

Séamus Mór said:

Nidhögg said:

The rules clearly states that dragon cards does not count as adventure cards until they have been drawn and placed on the board. Therefor the Prophetess and the Sages abilities does not work on the dragon cards.

But the Philosopher's does. So when your opponent is toaded by the Dragon Toad, you can land on that space, discard the DT, draw something else and grab all his goodies...

That's right.

As soon as you have place it on the board, you can use all cards or abilities to get rid of it.

The only rerstriction is that you cannot replace cards while drawing dragon cards, if the ability or card(orb) is meant for adventure cards.

Dragon Lore is a dragonlord card, and no adventure card. this makes sense! lengua.gif

I have a question on the Orb of Prophesy. The Dungeon rules state cards that are referred to as "Adventure Cards" can be used in abilities for Dungeon cards. The City expansion states it it a bit differently and only says this is on in reference to drawing and not abilities. So if I understand this correctly the Orb works in the Dungeon but not the city, and if I understand the above discussion does not work for Dragon cards either. I do not own Highland, and probably won't get it, but my friend does, does anyone know if it works there?

Edited by DomaGB

In my version of the Dragon Rulebook, I removed the restriction. Velhart send me your email addy please.