Rules - Some question about Mech Unit, Arborec and Nekrovirus.

By koceewa, in Twilight Imperium 3rd Edition

Hi to all,

I'm looking for some clarification about the rulings for Mech Units.


1) Are Mech Unit Able to start alone an invasion combat?


2) Are Mech Unit affected by PDS Fire when landing?


3) Are Mech Unit Affected by DN and WS Bombardment?



In our opinion Mech Units work exactly like a Ground Forces but Action cards and Technology.


About Arborec.


4) In a Planets with 4 Arborec Ground Forces (not already moved this turn) may the Arborec Player produce 4 ground forces by paying 2 resources (without racial technology)?


5) May an Arborec Ground Forces, moved this turn via Transit Diodes, produce during activation?

Nekrovirus.

6) How much Technologies the Nekro's player will get if he win a space battle and two invasion combats (in multiplanet systems) in the same attivation and in the same sistem?

Thanks a lot for your support and attention...

Enjoy your Mecatol wars

koceewa said:

Hi to all,

I'm looking for some clarification about the rulings for Mech Units.


1) Are Mech Unit Able to start alone an invasion combat?


2) Are Mech Unit affected by PDS Fire when landing?


3) Are Mech Unit Affected by DN and WS Bombardment?



In our opinion Mech Units work exactly like a Ground Forces but Action cards and Technology.


About Arborec.


4) In a Planets with 4 Arborec Ground Forces (not already moved this turn) may the Arborec Player produce 4 ground forces by paying 2 resources (without racial technology)?


5) May an Arborec Ground Forces, moved this turn via Transit Diodes, produce during activation?

Nekrovirus.

6) How much Technologies the Nekro's player will get if he win a space battle and two invasion combats (in multiplanet systems) in the same attivation and in the same sistem?

Thanks a lot for your support and attention...

Enjoy your Mecatol wars

Mech units:

1. Yes

2. Yes, but they of course need more than just one hit in order to take one down

3. No, they are not

Arborec:

4. No, they may not, see the FAQ. It would be the equivalent of paying 1 resource to produce 2 fighters at 2 separate spacedocks.

5. No, you may not, as they have clearly moved

Nekro

6. You would get 3, provided your opponent had at least 3 you lacked, as each invasion is considered separate, and they are also considered separate from the space combat.

Some of the answers you have received are incorrect.

2) Are Mech Unit affected by PDS Fire when landing?

3) Are Mech Unit Affected by DN and WS Bombardment?

Mech units are immune to PDS & Bombardment. (page 13 of faq fantasyflightgames.com/edge_minisite_sec.asp )

4) In a Planets with 4 Arborec Ground Forces (not already moved this turn) may the Arborec Player produce 4 ground forces by paying 2 resources (without racial technology)?

Each of the Arborec Ground Forces has a production value of 1. Each GF may produce 1 unit and production capacity of multiple GFs may not be stacked together. So 4 GFs would product 4 GFs at a cost of 4. This is what makes their racial tech so valueable.

5) May an Arborec Ground Forces, moved this turn via Transit Diodes, produce during activation?

Yes. The key factor is that the GF did not move during the activation you want to build. What the rule is saying is that you can not transport a GF on a carrier and then build with it immediately after landing.

Developmen "Liches" useless.

Bun in our version has a choice; immediately to improve necromancers or play vampires.
I'm not saying it's right - just ask to comment on this home rule.

koceewa said:

In our opinion Mech Units work exactly like a Ground Forces but Action cards and Technology.

I'm somewhat inclined to play mechs this way as well, however, this is definitely a house rule, if you choose to play it this way. The official rules, as given in the FAQ, are pretty clear that mechs rarely qualify for effects that use the term "Ground Force." This leads to a number of crazy things, such as mechs being immune to bombardment.

DavidG55311 said:

Each of the Arborec Ground Forces has a production value of 1. Each GF may produce 1 unit and production capacity of multiple GFs may not be stacked together. So 4 GFs would product 4 GFs at a cost of 4. This is what makes their racial tech so valueable.

From the FAQ:

Q: Can 2 Arborec Ground Forces produce 2 Ground Forces
for the cost of 1, thereby pooling their production capacity?
A: No, their production capacity may not be pooled.

This is probably the reference for Arborec production capabilities. From what I understand, each GF has a production capacity of 1. So far, my experience with the CSRs hasn't been good if you've noticed my FAQ style thread so where in the rules does it say that each Arborec GF cannot produce something on an activation? The v2.3 FAQ question itself doesn't make sense to me and it seems to be the only reference to Arborec production. I don't have my set handy so for the time being I can't read the racial techs or the race sheet itself.

We've only played 2-3 games since I bought Shards of the Throne but the way we play it is that if you have 3 GF on the planet, that planet itself can produce 3 things. EX: 3 GFs on the planet cost 3 resources to build 6 more GFs and at the end the planet will have a total of 9 GFs. The Nekro and Creuss are really solid races so the logic with my group is, "Since the Arborec docks can't produce GFs, why wouldn't each GF be able to produce 2 more GFs like normal?" The FAQ also says that they may produce ships, so why wouldn't their "super awesome" ability be the fact that their GFs can produce amazing amounts of fleets on their front lines without the aid of space docks?