Movement issue.

By Alistaja, in Battlelore

I have played that one can move to forest and attack. This is ok. But can the attacker take the hex targetted the attack IF its empty due retreat or anhillation. So Just asking this... Same issue is with swamps, and all "Stop movement, but may attack"...

... Cool. Please let it be so that you can advance ;)

Alistaja said:

... Cool. Please let it be so that you can advance ;)

Nope. I have had many a mounted charge blunted because I often forget about this until it arises mid-turn. Once a unit enters into a forest hex (or other hexes that do not allow any further movement that turn), no gaining ground can happen from that hex. Fordable streams are the exception, as they do not prevent further movement, but do stop movement upon being entered.

Retreating due to flags and lore affects is still possible though.

I did want to add that I do have a lingering question about movement in regards to fordable streams and follow-on actions. I think this was resolved on the DoW forums, but I can't recall nor locate the particular thread:

Can a unit that is able to pursue gain ground into a fordable stream hex, and then pursue through it? I.e., is the follow-on action of gaining ground and then making a pursuit considered one movement or two separate movements?

When you reach terrain that stops your movement for the rest of the turn, you can no longer move the rest of this turn. Whether that is your initial movement, moving into a vacated hex after battle, the pursuit movement, or moving into a vacated hex after the 2nd battle, this is applicable.

Each "movement" - even if it is follow-on battle actions - are treated separately and the terrain rules apply.

This was discussed previously and confirmed by DOW.

ColtsFan76 said:

Each "movement" - even if it is follow-on battle actions - are treated separately and the terrain rules apply.

Yeah, so for Forest hexes and certain landmarks it is definitely a no go - once a unit enters that hex, either during movement phase or in the course of follow-on actions during battle phase, it can move no further except due to retreats. However, in the case of fordable river hexes, units must stop but are not prevented from moving further later in the turn. If a unit ends its movement phase on such a hex then has a successful battle, it may gain ground into the vacated hex. The question I have is that if the hex that is moved into as a result of that ganing ground is a fordable river-like hex, is that unit eligible to make a pursuit movement?

If you take ground into a fordaable river, then you cannot do the pursuit action. But if you are still allowed a 2nd battle and can take ground agains, you can do so.