Dragon Priestess sacrifice and multiple enemies

By Nidhogg2, in Talisman Rules Questions

How does it work if the Dragon Priestess draws a dragon plus another strenght monster and she wishes to make a sacrifice to the dragon?

Does she avoid the combat completely, or does she only avoid combat with the dragon? If the former, in wich order do you resolve the combat and the sacrifice? If you draw the enemies I know it is in the same order as you drew it, but if the cards are allready on the space?

Also, what happens if she run into 2 or more dragons and wants to make a sacrifice? Do you encounter them as one entity, or do you make a sacrifice to them one at a time, thus making you roll dice at the temple several times in a row?

Nidhögg said:

How does it work if the Dragon Priestess draws a dragon plus another strenght monster and she wishes to make a sacrifice to the dragon?

Does she avoid the combat completely, or does she only avoid combat with the dragon? If the former, in wich order do you resolve the combat and the sacrifice? If you draw the enemies I know it is in the same order as you drew it, but if the cards are allready on the space?

Also, what happens if she run into 2 or more dragons and wants to make a sacrifice? Do you encounter them as one entity, or do you make a sacrifice to them one at a time, thus making you roll dice at the temple several times in a row?

Well I would say if you draw a dragon and a monster you can sacrifice to the dragon and battle the mosnter. If you face 2 dragons you can sacrifice to both.

I guess thats the correct way to handle it. But if there are a dragon and a monster on the same space when I land on it, who do I encounter first? Can I chose freely who I will encounter first of the two?

Nidhögg said:

I guess thats the correct way to handle it. But if there are a dragon and a monster on the same space when I land on it, who do I encounter first? Can I chose freely who I will encounter first of the two?

If the Dragon and the Monster have different encounter numbers, you encounter them separately according to numbers (lower goes first).

If they share the same encounter number, you encounter them together and they fight as one in combat. You can choose on which one(s) to use a "before engage in battle/psychic combat" ability or Spell, just like Persiatic said. Dragons can be handled separately and if the sacrifice goes well you fight the remaining.

Yes, but where does it state that I'll do the sacrifice before engaging in battle with other monsters?

Nidhögg said:

Yes, but where does it state that I'll do the sacrifice before engaging in battle with other monsters?

If the other monster is already on the space, i would say you have to battle that monster first, then sacrifice to the dragon, if they have the same encounter number, so you would encounter the cards in the order they are drawn ( just as if you draw 2 places at the same time )

Regards

Nidhögg said:

Yes, but where does it state that I'll do the sacrifice before engaging in battle with other monsters?

Sacrifice is made instead of attacking, so it should have precedence over combat. Otherwise, you would fight the Dragon and the other monsters at once, because if the sacrifice has to happen later, then the Dragon joins the other Enemies in battle. I don't see any other way to handle it that does not ignore the "instead of attacking" statement and the normal rules.

The_Warlock said:

Nidhögg said:

Yes, but where does it state that I'll do the sacrifice before engaging in battle with other monsters?

Sacrifice is made instead of attacking, so it should have precedence over combat. Otherwise, you would fight the Dragon and the other monsters at once, because if the sacrifice has to happen later, then the Dragon joins the other Enemies in battle. I don't see any other way to handle it that does not ignore the "instead of attacking" statement and the normal rules.

I think you are right. I would play it like that.

Regards

I was just wondering about something from the dragon priestess.

If she offer a sacrifice to a dragon, and she become enslaved, and there are more cards to be encountered, must she end her turn following the normal )missing turn rule' or can she finish her turn and miss her next turn instead?

I remember that the Highlander has also a missing turn ability and he could finish his turn. But i don;t know if this exception can also be made with the dragon priestess..

Velhart said:

I was just wondering about something from the dragon priestess.

If she offer a sacrifice to a dragon, and she become enslaved, and there are more cards to be encountered, must she end her turn following the normal )missing turn rule' or can she finish her turn and miss her next turn instead?

I remember that the Highlander has also a missing turn ability and he could finish his turn. But i don;t know if this exception can also be made with the dragon priestess..

Usually if you miss your next turn and you have other cards to encounter, the current turn counts as a missed turn. Is this rule applicable to the case, perhaps?

It's like drawing the Evil Darkness and a Bag of Gold; if you're not Evil your Turn ends immediately and this counts as the missed turn. Highlander needed a FAQ in order to get around this rule, I think. He's an exception.

The_Warlock said:

Velhart said:

I was just wondering about something from the dragon priestess.

If she offer a sacrifice to a dragon, and she become enslaved, and there are more cards to be encountered, must she end her turn following the normal )missing turn rule' or can she finish her turn and miss her next turn instead?

I remember that the Highlander has also a missing turn ability and he could finish his turn. But i don;t know if this exception can also be made with the dragon priestess..

Usually if you miss your next turn and you have other cards to encounter, the current turn counts as a missed turn. Is this rule applicable to the case, perhaps?

It's like drawing the Evil Darkness and a Bag of Gold; if you're not Evil your Turn ends immediately and this counts as the missed turn. Highlander needed a FAQ in order to get around this rule, I think. He's an exception.

I was just thinking about the Highlander, and it gave me some thoughts, if the priestess could finish her turn, even if she became enslaved.

But i would use the normal missed turn rule too.

I was wondering what other people would think about it.

The rule about the Highlander was also not known in the beginning lengua.gif

The_Warlock said:

Nidhögg said:

Yes, but where does it state that I'll do the sacrifice before engaging in battle with other monsters?

Sacrifice is made instead of attacking, so it should have precedence over combat. Otherwise, you would fight the Dragon and the other monsters at once, because if the sacrifice has to happen later, then the Dragon joins the other Enemies in battle. I don't see any other way to handle it that does not ignore the "instead of attacking" statement and the normal rules.

There's no clear answer here but there are suggestions within the rules.

The precedence of special abilities and battling has never been spelled out well. Imho, there's always been some errors in the rules that were never corrected from the Black Industries version. The basic rules under "Encountering another Character" pg9 says attack or use one of his special abilities.

Firstly, it's not really "or". Let's take the Valkyrie as an example. "You may add 1 to your attack score during battle". You activate the special ability and then proceed to attack.

Secondly the same rule applies to Creatures/(more so Enemies) though it is not mentioned anywhere (otherwise pretty much no character has a special ability). Using special abilities against Enemies is a foundation stone of the game.

The FAQ implies this interpretation under "Attacking More Than One Enemy". It says "any Spells, special abilities, or effects that target one creature only affects one Enemy. The character chooses which Enemy is affected." This shows though you are fighting multiple creatures you still can launch a special at one of the group. Now as for a subsequent battle, in the example below it ends "The character then resolves a battle with the Goblin."

We also have to keep in mind special ability text overrides rules pg 15. You use the sacrifice special ability "instead of attacking IT [the dragon/s]". So activate special, if you're not enslaved, proceed to battle the other Enemies.

Velhart said:

The_Warlock said:

Velhart said:

I was just wondering about something from the dragon priestess.

If she offer a sacrifice to a dragon, and she become enslaved, and there are more cards to be encountered, must she end her turn following the normal )missing turn rule' or can she finish her turn and miss her next turn instead?

I remember that the Highlander has also a missing turn ability and he could finish his turn. But i don;t know if this exception can also be made with the dragon priestess..

Usually if you miss your next turn and you have other cards to encounter, the current turn counts as a missed turn. Is this rule applicable to the case, perhaps?

It's like drawing the Evil Darkness and a Bag of Gold; if you're not Evil your Turn ends immediately and this counts as the missed turn. Highlander needed a FAQ in order to get around this rule, I think. He's an exception.

I was just thinking about the Highlander, and it gave me some thoughts, if the priestess could finish her turn, even if she became enslaved.

But i would use the normal missed turn rule too.

I was wondering what other people would think about it.

The rule about the Highlander was also not known in the beginning lengua.gif

If the Highlander loses the battle he both ends the current turn and misses next turn.

The sacrifice is a special that replaces battle (instead of attacking).

If you fail sacrifice, I would interpret you lost battle so your turn ended and you still miss next turn from enslavement.

The text clearly says "next turn" and not the rest of the turn. I think this was intention. It would be silly to expect

the dragon to wait to enslave you while you run around picking up treasure.

GlennG said:

If the Highlander loses the battle he both ends the current turn and misses next turn.

The sacrifice is a special that replaces battle (instead of attacking).

If you fail sacrifice, I would interpret you lost battle so your turn ended and you still miss next turn from enslavement.

The text clearly says "next turn" and not the rest of the turn. I think this was intention. It would be silly to expect

the dragon to wait to enslave you while you run around picking up treasure.

You are right with the dragon priestess, that the special ability replaces the battle with instead of attacking it.

But i think that if you use the sacrifice ability on a dragon, and the space has also a craft enemy, then it still attacks you. (it's similar to the minstrel)

I am also still thinking that if you must miss a turn, and there are more cards to be encountered, then you only miss your current turn.

I have another question..

If the dragon priestess makes a sacrifice before a dragon in the dragon tower, can she only move 1 space further after the encounter is complete? or does she stay on her space, because she is not defeated,nor stand-off, nor winning..

If i read the faq, the turn ends if she did not defeat all strength enemies etc mmm preocupado.gif

-Minstril is a bit similar. So if the minstril will not attack a dragon, then other strength type dragons can still attack him, but his turn will end after this phase?

so craft enemies will not attack him?

And if the minstril will not attack a dragon in the dragon tower, can he still move? if i understand the faq, he can not move.. preocupado.gif

And if he draws 2 dragons, and he ignore one dragon, but he defeat the other one in the tower? what happens?

can someone explain? happy.gif elliot maybe lengua.gif

Can someone answer the question above? preocupado.gif

dragon rules, page13:

except creatures cannot be affected by any spell, nor may they be evaded:

after a char finished resolving dragon cards he encountered,he moves one space towards CoC, plus one additional space for each enemy he killed during this turn.

so if you sacrisfice, then it means, you RESOLVED this card. So you have to move up one and the only one space. Because you didnt KILLED anybody or anything. From the other hand you was not defeated, so you can move only one space towards. if there are in pair or trio another enemy, then priestess must encounter them, but not the dragon. because she mada sacrisfice already

ministrell, i think, is similar. if it is dragons and animals alone, then THEY do not attack minstrell and he will go 1 space forward. if there are enemies other type, then only they are attacked. of course minstrell can decide to attack himself everykbody and everythibg :)

gedasm said:

dragon rules, page13:

except creatures cannot be affected by any spell, nor may they be evaded:

after a char finished resolving dragon cards he encountered,he moves one space towards CoC, plus one additional space for each enemy he killed during this turn.

so if you sacrisfice, then it means, you RESOLVED this card. So you have to move up one and the only one space. Because you didnt KILLED anybody or anything. From the other hand you was not defeated, so you can move only one space towards. if there are in pair or trio another enemy, then priestess must encounter them, but not the dragon. because she mada sacrisfice already

ministrell, i think, is similar. if it is dragons and animals alone, then THEY do not attack minstrell and he will go 1 space forward. if there are enemies other type, then only they are attacked. of course minstrell can decide to attack himself everykbody and everythibg :)

The abilities from dragon priestess and minstril is not evading.

But you have a point, that if the dragon priestess do a sacrifice, she can go only 1 space forward. same for minstril.

But because the faq says (page1) that their turns will end if the enemies are not killed or evaded, their turns should end.