Minotaur's Stampede

By EvilEdwin, in Talisman Rules Questions

We had a curious use of Stampede occur in a game earlier today. I was curious whether you guys thought this was correct.

The Minotaur was near the end of the Dungeon, and rolling a five he landed on the Lord of Darkness and beat him by enough to teleport directly to the Crown of Command and fight the Dragon King. Since he then has to fight the Dragon King that same turn, would he still retain his Stampede bonus since he started with a movement roll that turn?

Yep, sounds right to me.. Nice hey :) .

EvilEdwin said:

We had a curious use of Stampede occur in a game earlier today. I was curious whether you guys thought this was correct.

The Minotaur was near the end of the Dungeon, and rolling a five he landed on the Lord of Darkness and beat him by enough to teleport directly to the Crown of Command and fight the Dragon King. Since he then has to fight the Dragon King that same turn, would he still retain his Stampede bonus since he started with a movement roll that turn?

No i don´t think so as the stampede only works until end of battle. That would be the battle with LoD. Also, it is not your movement roll who takes you to the crown, you are teleported after the battle is over. Thats how i would play it.

Best regards

EvilEdwin said:

We had a curious use of Stampede occur in a game earlier today. I was curious whether you guys thought this was correct.

The Minotaur was near the end of the Dungeon, and rolling a five he landed on the Lord of Darkness and beat him by enough to teleport directly to the Crown of Command and fight the Dragon King. Since he then has to fight the Dragon King that same turn, would he still retain his Stampede bonus since he started with a movement roll that turn?

According to the wording on the Minotaur, this is the correct way to play it! Sorry Wizard but you are trying to use logic rather than play it how the special ability is written.

Ell.

Hmm. It just semms odd to me, but i guess the highlander can use his charge ability the same way then?

Just to make it 100% clear to everybody who might have got it wrong like me happy.gif


Hi again John. I have a question for you. If the Minotaur rolls a five and land on the lord of darkness, beat him and is teleported to the crown, is he still allowed to use his stampede ability against the end boss. ?

A: During that turn, yes. On future turns, if the Minotaur does not roll a die for movement he cannot stampede.

Once again you´re right Ell. gran_risa.gif

Best regards

talismanamsilat said:

According to the wording on the Minotaur, this is the correct way to play it! Sorry Wizard but you are trying to use logic rather than play it how the special ability is written.

Ell.

"Whenever you are about to engage in battle during your turn, you may stampede and add the result of your movement die to your Strength until the end of the battle."

An illustrative example, hopefully - the Minotaur is on starting stats and has the Fiend Slayer as a Follower. He rolls a 5 for his move, lands on a Draw 1 Card space and draws a Goblin and the Planeswalker. He slaughters the Goblin (Str 9 vs 2) then chooses to teleport onto a square with a Bandit, where he has to draw another card as he has the Fiend Slayer. He easily beats the Bandit (9 vs 4), but then, as he has drawn the Marsh, has to miss his next turn because his Str is 4 when not in battle.

Séamus Mór said:

talismanamsilat said:

According to the wording on the Minotaur, this is the correct way to play it! Sorry Wizard but you are trying to use logic rather than play it how the special ability is written.

Ell.

"Whenever you are about to engage in battle during your turn, you may stampede and add the result of your movement die to your Strength until the end of the battle."

An illustrative example, hopefully - the Minotaur is on starting stats and has the Fiend Slayer as a Follower. He rolls a 5 for his move, lands on a Draw 1 Card space and draws a Goblin and the Planeswalker. He slaughters the Goblin (Str 9 vs 2) then chooses to teleport onto a square with a Bandit, where he has to draw another card as he has the Fiend Slayer. He easily beats the Bandit (9 vs 4), but then, as he has drawn the Marsh, has to miss his next turn because his Str is 4 when not in battle.

Yes! It seems that the minotaur can stampede through the whole turn regardless of how many enemies he may encounter.

Yes, but the Plainswalker has a encounter number of 1, so you actually teleport away before you have the chance to engage the goblin...

Nidhögg said:

Yes, but the Plainswalker has a encounter number of 1, so you actually teleport away before you have the chance to engage the goblin...

Dammit!

Stampede's good for blasting through the Sentinel and into the Middle Region!