Quick questions regarding special powers

By Balefirestorm, in Citadels

Hi All,

Just started playing this game and one thing popped up.

When your character is called you show the card and your turn starts. In what order do I have to use the powers on the character's card?

For example: When the merchant is called, can I do my action (two coins or two cards, choose one), take one coin and then use the other ability after I built something (maybe another green district)?

Thanks for any help

Yes, you can tax a colour after you build, if you have one of those characters. Most character powers can be used at any point during your turn, unless they specifically say otherwise.

Also, you should read the power descriptions in the rulebook, and they make a few clarifications there that aren't really implied by the text on the cards.