Can sleeping dragons breathe?

By Séamus Mór, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hi,

Some more questions.

1) Is a dragon with a sleep token placed on it able to use its breath attack? Couldn't find anything in the rules, though my common sense screams NO. My ever-hidebound opponent said 'yes' and, since it's his game, I had to suppress a strong urge to punch the wall. But who is right?

2) The Dragonspine Mines require Str and Dragonbone Crypt requires Cra. This is the other way round to the normal Mines and Crypt. Is it a printing error?

3) On his second turn of Temporal Warp, the Warlock draws Storm (all other characters are in the same Region). This means he misses his third turn, everyone else misses a turn, then it's his turn again, right?

4) The Warrior attacks the Priest, who uses the Champion to fight in his place. The Warrior wins. Can he take his normal reward?

5) Is it right that the Sorceress encountering another character can do only one of the following: (a) fight in battle, (b) fight in psychic combat, © beguile or (d) take a Follower?

6) The Assassin lands on the Runes (We play the old, non-turbo Assassin), where there is a face-up Ogre. Assassination prevents the victim from making an attack roll, and the Runes space says "Any creatures that you fight here add 2 to their attack rolls." Since ther Ogre cannot make an attack roll, does it get the +2 from the Runes space?

7) The Assassin lands on the Trapper and fails to make the Craft roll. Does this mean neither side rolls a die and the attack is resolved using Strength alone?

8) The Dark Cultist is on 1 life, and casts Hex on the Village. Next turn, she dies. Should Hex be discarded?

1) So hit the wall then, I guess. The rules dont say enemies with sleep tokens can't use their abilties, they just have reduced strength/craft.

2) Don't know, 'cause I don't have the expansion yet.

3) Since he takes his 3 turns in a row, shouldn't the order be - miss turn 2 - take turn 3 - the others miss a turn - take your next turn - continue the usual turn order?

4) If he could, what would've been the point of using the champion?

5) If you land on another character, you may take one follower from him/her (except for the Maiden, Unicorn, Princess) and then choose wether to attack or beguile him/her.

6) Interesting question - would you say there was no die roll, so no +2 or would you say the result is 0, so +2 still gives +2?

- But I'd tend to say there was no die roll, so no result = no +2.

7) I'd say you're right on this one.

8) Why should it be discarded? - It's not like it "belongs" to the character. I'd say the card stays 'till it is discarded like always.

Séamus Mór said:

Hi,

Some more questions.

1) Is a dragon with a sleep token placed on it able to use its breath attack? Couldn't find anything in the rules, though my common sense screams NO. My ever-hidebound opponent said 'yes' and, since it's his game, I had to suppress a strong urge to punch the wall. But who is right?

2) The Dragonspine Mines require Str and Dragonbone Crypt requires Cra. This is the other way round to the normal Mines and Crypt. Is it a printing error?

3) On his second turn of Temporal Warp, the Warlock draws Storm (all other characters are in the same Region). This means he misses his third turn, everyone else misses a turn, then it's his turn again, right?

4) The Warrior attacks the Priest, who uses the Champion to fight in his place. The Warrior wins. Can he take his normal reward?

5) Is it right that the Sorceress encountering another character can do only one of the following: (a) fight in battle, (b) fight in psychic combat, © beguile or (d) take a Follower?

6) The Assassin lands on the Runes (We play the old, non-turbo Assassin), where there is a face-up Ogre. Assassination prevents the victim from making an attack roll, and the Runes space says "Any creatures that you fight here add 2 to their attack rolls." Since ther Ogre cannot make an attack roll, does it get the +2 from the Runes space?

7) The Assassin lands on the Trapper and fails to make the Craft roll. Does this mean neither side rolls a die and the attack is resolved using Strength alone?

8) The Dark Cultist is on 1 life, and casts Hex on the Village. Next turn, she dies. Should Hex be discarded?

1. Sleep tokens only reduce strenght/craft all other stuff on the card works as normal

2. hmm sound like you maybe read it wrong or maybe typo, I don't have my board infront of me but I'm 98% sure Mines is craft and Crypt Strenght.

3. yes

4. no

5. yes

6. no beacuase it says + to attack roll and he doesn't roll anything

7. yes

8. no hex remains

****, read 3) wrong. You and Persiatic are right.

About 5) - It's a land on ability, isn't it? - So shouldn't it be the same as with the druid gaining spells whenever he lands on the woods?

(And by the way, in my language, it's written on the card that you can take a follower and then attack/beguile afterwards.)

Shifting Spirit said:

****, read 3) wrong. You and Persiatic are right.

About 5) - It's a land on ability, isn't it? - So shouldn't it be the same as with the druid gaining spells whenever he lands on the woods?

(And by the way, in my language, it's written on the card that you can take a follower and then attack/beguile afterwards.)

That's weird.

If the Sorceress encounters a character, she may only choose 1 of the 3 abilities to use it on the character.

Velhart said:

Shifting Spirit said:

****, read 3) wrong. You and Persiatic are right.

About 5) - It's a land on ability, isn't it? - So shouldn't it be the same as with the druid gaining spells whenever he lands on the woods?

(And by the way, in my language, it's written on the card that you can take a follower and then attack/beguile afterwards.)

That's weird.

If the Sorceress encounters a character, she may only choose 1 of the 3 abilities to use it on the character.

That's the right way to play it.

You can take a follower from a character that you land on, whether or not you Attack or Beguille them. Sounds clear to me :)

lost.prophet said:

Velhart said:

Shifting Spirit said:

****, read 3) wrong. You and Persiatic are right.

About 5) - It's a land on ability, isn't it? - So shouldn't it be the same as with the druid gaining spells whenever he lands on the woods?

(And by the way, in my language, it's written on the card that you can take a follower and then attack/beguile afterwards.)

That's weird.

If the Sorceress encounters a character, she may only choose 1 of the 3 abilities to use it on the character.

That's the right way to play it.

You can take a follower from a character that you land on, whether or not you Attack or Beguille them. Sounds clear to me :)

In the revised 4th Edition, the Sorceress can only use one special ability during an encounter. In the BI version, she can do more than one!

I know officially a sleeping Dragon only has its Strength/Craft reduced by 3, but a sleeping Dragon should not be able to use a breath attack, period! The Dragon only wakes up when you attack it lol

Elliott.

Shifting Spirit said:

6) Interesting question - would you say there was no die roll, so no +2 or would you say the result is 0, so +2 still gives +2?

- But I'd tend to say there was no die roll, so no result = no +2.

I agree, but I'd rather pretend it said +2 to an Enemy's attack score .

Persiatic said:


2. hmm sound like you maybe read it wrong or maybe typo, I don't have my board infront of me but I'm 98% sure Mines is craft and Crypt Strenght.


I can read fine thanks! Maybe it's a printing error in an isolated batch.

talismanamsilat said:


I know officially a sleeping Dragon only has its Strength/Craft reduced by 3, but a sleeping Dragon should not be able to use a breath attack, period! The Dragon only wakes up when you attack it lol

Exactly, that's what any sane person would think!