Two Fate Questions & One Other

By Séamus Mór, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hiya,

I'm new to the forums but have been playing Talisman since 2E. This has mostly been with a guy who makes rule judgements up on the spot. When I argue, he gets irascible and plays the 'it's-my-game' card. I thought I'd come here and get some things straightened out happy.gif

Anyway, on to the questions:

1) I'm on 1 life, encounter the Witch and roll a 2 (Lose 1 life). Can I use a Fate to reroll, or am I immediately killed?

2) Can your character always use Fate when rolling a dice for himself? Are there any circumstances when you can't use Fate?

3) I'm on the Ruins and draw the Burrow Worm and Roc. They pummel me (total Str 9). Where do I move to - the Dungeon Entrance or the Mountain Pass? Does it depend on which card was drawn first?

Thanks,

Séamus

Séamus Mór said:

Hiya,

I'm new to the forums but have been playing Talisman since 2E. This has mostly been with a guy who makes rule judgements up on the spot. When I argue, he gets irascible and plays the 'it's-my-game' card. I thought I'd come here and get some things straightened out happy.gif

Anyway, on to the questions:

1) I'm on 1 life, encounter the Witch and roll a 2 (Lose 1 life). Can I use a Fate to reroll, or am I immediately killed?

2) Can your character always use Fate when rolling a dice for himself? Are there any circumstances when you can't use Fate?

3) I'm on the Ruins and draw the Burrow Worm and Roc. They pummel me (total Str 9). Where do I move to - the Dungeon Entrance or the Mountain Pass? Does it depend on which card was drawn first?

Thanks,

Séamus

1) Yes you can use a fate to reroll the result

2) As a general rule you can use fate reroll any one die each time you have an encounter. This also apply for the pit fiends, werewolf and dice with death in the inner region

3) You have to make your own houserule for this. The card that was drawn first is a good way of handling it i think.

Best regards

Séamus Mór said:

3) I'm on the Ruins and draw the Burrow Worm and Roc. They pummel me (total Str 9). Where do I move to - the Dungeon Entrance or the Mountain Pass? Does it depend on which card was drawn first?

First card drawn is the correct way to handle this situation if both cards have just been drawn. However if they are already faceup on a space when a character lands there, the best way to handle the situation is to roll a die for the Burrow Worm and the Roc; the highest result takes precedence in determining which space a character is moved to if defeated (reroll ties)!

Ell.

The Wizard said:

2) As a general rule you can use fate reroll any one die each time you have an encounter. This also apply for the pit fiends, werewolf and dice with death in the inner region

So the 3 options given in the rules (p6) cover everything anyway. Why didn't they just say "A player may pay one fate token to reroll any die roll relating to his character" or some suych?

talismanamsilat said:

First card drawn is the correct way to handle this situation if both cards have just been drawn. However if they are already faceup on a space when a character lands there, the best way to handle the situation is to roll a die for the Burrow Worm and the Roc; the highest result takes precedence in determining which space a character is moved to if defeated (reroll ties)!

Ell.

Or, say 1-3 Worm, 4-6 Roc, and just roll 1 die ;-)

Thanks guys!

Or you may decide that top part of your character is taken by Roc and bottom part in taken by Worm, so the character is killed in the process :) a really funny house rule

guciomir said:

Or you may decide that top part of your character is taken by Roc and bottom part in taken by Worm, so the character is killed in the process :) a really funny house rule

Very clever lol