FAQ n Errata: Attachments

By Tokhuah, in CoC Rules Discussion

Card Effects

(1.9) Gaining Control
If a card effect allows you to take control of a non-attachment card, move that card into your playing area. If that card is an attachment, you gain control of it but it remains attached to the original character unless the card effect says otherwise.

FAQ

What happens if I use Repo Man (Summons of the Deep F41) to take control of Infernal Obsession (Summons of the Deep F51) which was attached to a character I own?
Repo Man takes control of Infernal Obsession and it is detached (see Gaining Control), which causes that original character to revert to your control.
Infernal Obsession is now moved to a character you control. Infernal Obsession is not discarded because the discard effect only functions when the character it is currently attached to changes control. Since the character change happens because Infernal Obsession has been removed it stays in play.

Repo Man View Details
Type: Character Faction: The Agency
Cost: 2 Skill: 2 Icon: ©
Government
If you win a [Combat] Struggle at a story to which Repo Man is committed, instead of the normal struggle effects, take control of a support card controlled by the losing player.

What is up with the bold section above? Am I reading this wrong or do the rulings now contradict each other?

I think what is going on is buried in the language.

At the end, Infernal Obsession is still attached to the same character. But at first it was attached to a character controlled by an opponent (because he stole my character). Then I gain control of it, the character is not longer controlled by the opponent, so the attachment goes back on but now it is on a character I control (the same card mind you).

Infernal Obsession
While attached, you gain control of attached character. (If control changes again, discard Infernal Obsession from play.)

At what point does the Character previously controlled by the opponent return to the control of the owner and contradict the wording on Infernal Obsession by NOT discarding it?

I need flow charts and maybe a PowerPoint on this one.

This was the change I was most surprised by (granted I haven't read everything in detail yet). Honestly the whole point of taking control of attachments seemed to me that you could put them on your own characters. Now that you can't, it doesn't seem to make any sense.

Say an enemy character has .45 PIstols. If I take control of them, it's meaningless. It grants a Combat icon to the attached character. Nothing depends on who controls it, and a lot of other attachments are similar where your opponent still gets all or most of the benefits (even though they may lose access to an Action it provides, they'll still usually get the bonuses). Honestly, it seems poorly thought out. I think the idea was to prevent stealing Relics because they might be very good, but it's messing up other stuff.

Well, for one thing I'm definitely taking Thief for Hire out of my Syndicate deck now :)

Tokhuah said:

Card Effects

(1.9) Gaining Control
If a card effect allows you to take control of a non-attachment card, move that card into your playing area. If that card is an attachment, you gain control of it but it remains attached to the original character unless the card effect says otherwise.

Yes, it would be confusing if character attachments worked one way and other attachments worked another.

How do you explain why IO is not discarded when the Character changes control while it is still attached? I can hear it now from local players: "But, the wording on cards takes precedent when in conflict with the rules..."

The important points can be summarized in bullet points:

1. The old FAQ indicates Repo Man detaches the card.

2. The new rule states that an attachment does not become detached when it changes control.

3. Repo man does NOT have any printed wording that would circumvent or contradict the most recent rule on attachment control (despite the older FAQ entry).

4. Infernal Obsession has printed wording that requires it to be discarded when control of the attached Character changes.

It looks pretty clear to me that the repo man question was from the old attachment ruling.

With the old ruling when you took control of an attachment it came to you. So Repo took the attachment and had you move it. The attachment is no longer on the character the text refers to as such it does not get discarded.

With the new rules the attachment stays in oplace but as soon as you control it the character switches to your side and IO falls off. If I had to make a prediction I'd expect this cleared up in the faq by the end of the day. maybe a 2.0.1 heh. :D

@Penfold: I was editing when you were posting... odd that it did not screw up the code like it has in the past...

It appears the old Repo Man FAQ entry needs to be removed.

I will tell people to ignore it until we hear otherwise... or, I am afraid a Dimensional Rift may open in a near-by earthquake fault zone... This is not beyond possibility as we game on Thursday nights and 10/20/11 is the date of the California Shake Out !