Escort From Edoras Question

By Neffer, in The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game

As I said, I've read the rules and I know what it says there.

The_Big_Show said:

As I said, I've read the rules and I know what it says there.

So you are ignoring direct wording from the rules to make up your own rules?

The_Big_Show said:

It's not a case of it being a simple or hard issue. I know what the rulebook says and I know what the card says. The card says when you resolve a quest. A quest not after you guest. Resolve a quest means when you complete a stage of. Otherwise it would say after quest resolution.

Why limit him to a stage? Why does a stage count as a quest? Resolve quest, of course it means all the stages, that's the quest resolved, win or lose.

~I only count quests resolved when I have defeated every enemy that has entered play since I started that stage of the quest. Of course, I also play that I can convert progress tokens on a quest to damage tokens on enemies, so it's pretty easy.

would somebody please tell me why this is still an active thread? the rules are clear, and if you want to play differently, ok, do what you want... as long as there are no organized tournaments - nobody can complain... so what the hell... I play - when I draw the first card, I win automatically :D

The_Big_Show said:

As I said, I've read the rules and I know what it says there.

How about this. Can you provide any examples from the FAQ or rules in which the term "resolving a quest" is used in the way in which you define it?

Svenn said:

So you are ignoring direct wording from the rules to make up your own rules?

No, I'm not. Stop putting words into my mouth please.

I'm not the only person at my games club to see this issue and read it as I do.

Bohemond said:


How about this. Can you provide any examples from the FAQ or rules in which the term "resolving a quest" is used in the way in which you define it?

No I can't. But being an experienced CCG player I just look at the wording in the rulebook and the wording on the card. As far as I can tell they are not referring to the same thing.

I'm sure that this is something that will appear in the next FAQ to clarify. If I'm wrong (and I'm sure I will be since FFG seem intent on taking anything helpful in this game and making it harder) then I'm wrong.

"Forced: After resolving a quest to which Escort from Edoras was commited, discard Escort from Edoras from play."

Look on page 15 of the rule book. There is a half-page box right at the top of the page and big bold letters that read- Example: Resolving a Quest

It's purely about how to compare your Willpower to the Threat in the staging area and seeing if you get Progress Tokens on the current Quest card. The EXACT same phrase is used, "resolving a quest", and it does not have anything to do with finishing a whole quest or moving on to the next Quest card or anything.

I think you're just wanting to read into it something that isn't there. If you commit the Escort of Edoras to a quest, then he will get discarded at the end of that phase. I suppose it could have been worded a bit more clearly, but I'm not seeing any other reasonable interpretation.

I just don't see how much more clear it could have been. There are some cards in this game that could be open to interpretation, but this isn't one of them. You are digging for a loophole that just isn't there.

I'm pretty sure that big show it troll rolling you all right now. Look how worked up you all are getting over what is basically a non-issue. Escort obviously only works for through its participation in one round of questing. Could you imagine how powerful this card would be if it lasted until you finished the quest card for a measley 2 resources! hahaha, that's good stuff.

Titan said:

I just don't see how much more clear it could have been. There are some cards in this game that could be open to interpretation, but this isn't one of them. You are digging for a loophole that just isn't there.

I think saying that he gets discarded at the end of the Questing Phase would have been a little more clear.

gatharion said:

Titan said:

I just don't see how much more clear it could have been. There are some cards in this game that could be open to interpretation, but this isn't one of them. You are digging for a loophole that just isn't there.

I think saying that he gets discarded at the end of the Questing Phase would have been a little more clear.

"discarded at the end of the Questing Phase" would be a different effect than it currently has. You cannot take action, such as discard a "Borne Aloft" attached to it to return it to your hand, before it leaves play after you resolved a quest. However, if it is discarded at the end of the Questing Phase, you can do this (take action after resolving a quest but before the end of the quest phase).

Angus Lee said:

"discarded at the end of the Questing Phase" would be a different effect than it currently has. You cannot take action, such as discard a "Borne Aloft" attached to it to return it to your hand, before it leaves play after you resolved a quest. However, if it is discarded at the end of the Questing Phase, you can do this (take action after resolving a quest but before the end of the quest phase).


100% correct. The idea with his forced effect and the timing of it, is that nothing will be able to interfere with the discarding. It's meant to be the price you pay for his 4 willpower. That wording would effectively allow for one window of player actions between quest resolution and end of questing phase.

Angus Lee said:

"discarded at the end of the Questing Phase" would be a different effect than it currently has. You cannot take action, such as discard a "Borne Aloft" attached to it to return it to your hand, before it leaves play after you resolved a quest. However, if it is discarded at the end of the Questing Phase, you can do this (take action after resolving a quest but before the end of the quest phase).

That's a good point. I hadn't thought of that. In most cases the result would be the same, but it would leave open that window to allow cards like Born Aloft to be used, which the game designers clearly did not want to do.