Escort From Edoras Question

By Neffer, in The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game

Forced: After resolving a quest to which Escort from Edoras was commited, discard Escort from Edoras from play.

My question is does "resolving a quest" mean when moving to the next quest phase after enough progress tokens have been placed to move on

or after a single quest phase in which Escort from Edoras was commited?

Thanks

Neff

Resolving a quest happens on every single quest phase, not just when the quest card is explored. In this case, that means that once you've committed the Escort, you will have no choice but to discard him after the quest resolves for that turn.

Yeah I thought the other option sounded to go to be true, especialy if playing "the hills of emyn muil"

But would " born aloft" still be able to return him to your hand?

I don't believe so, because his discard effect is a forced one, which means it will resolve inmediately and won't give you time to activate Born Aloft.

Yes after going through the rule book it looks that way.

Just building up a tactics/spirit deck to play through hills of emyn muil and trying to come up with some good combos

Thanks for the clarifications =)

Keep bouncing him back with Stand and Fight? Quest for 4WP for 2 resource one turn, then bring him back for another 4WP for 2 resource next turn. Since he keeps leaving play, Horn of Gondor provides 1 resource per turn just from him.

nah says "remove from play" sadly

Neffer said:

nah says "remove from play" sadly

Which one does? Escort is discarded from play, thus triggering Horn that keys off a character leaving play (meaning in play -> hand, discard or removed).

Yeah, he's removed from play and placed in the discard pile and can be brought back with card effects. If a card is removed from the game, like healing the eagle in Rhosgobel, it will be clear that it is removed from the game and not just from play.

So Escort is a bit of a one trick pony when it comes to questing but he can be "boomaranged" like Dam mentioned.

The game is really starting to get tricksy with bouncing allies with things like that Tactics eagle that deals 2 damage when entering or leaving play and Prince Imrahil. Escort from Edoras and most Rohan allies are prime candidates for bouncing in and out of play.

Sorry my understand of "discard from play" was that it was put back into the box not the discard pile and stand and fight says search a players discard pile?

Neffer said:

Sorry my understand of "discard from play" was that it was put back into the box not the discard pile and stand and fight says search a players discard pile?

Discard from play places the card in the discard pile. It's rare that cards are removed from the game entirely, the Journey to Rhosgobel quest has a quest phase that will cause that but it explains that specific action. Stand and Fight would let you search the discard pile and pay its cost to bring an ally back into play.

Surely resolving a quest is the completion of a stage not just questing for a turn?

The_Big_Show said:

Surely resolving a quest is the completion of a stage not just questing for a turn?

Resolving a quest occurs when you count up the total threat in the staging area versus the total willpower of committed characters to see if you successfully quested or not. So Escort from Edoras can be used to commit and add 4 Willpower once and then is discarded after the quest resolution step of the questing phase. He's basically a 4 Willpower thrust for one round's quest phase.

Otherwise players would just avoid using Escort from Edoras during a round where it was likely that the quest stage would be changing to avoid discarding him.

Yes page 30 of the rule book.

3. Quest phase

.Players commit

.Encounter deck reveals

.Player action

."resolve questing"

.Player actions

That's dissapointing, and IMO makes the ally too weak. *grumbles*

two resource plus a card to place 4 progress tokens is a solid effect. When you factor in the other potential ways it combos (Prince Imrahil, Valiance Sacrifice, Mustering), you have a very effective card.

It suits the card. Picture an escort from another area bringing some help as your heroes continue their quest and face imminent threats. He arrives with whatever help he is escorting and the group pushes onward. Then the escort heads back to Edoras, his mission complete. Maybe more escorts are inbound? Maybe that same escort will be coming back?

Without that negative aspect to the card, his cost would probably be as high as 5. At cost 2 he is easier to bring back with Stand and Fight and you won't feel too guilty discarding him to use Ride to Ruin to get rid of a pesky location. And even with 0 defense he could still be used as a cheap blocker in an emergency. Wouldn't want to do that if he had a higher cost. And the cost makes him attractive for multi-sphere decks where resources can be scarce.

Bohemond said:

two resource plus a card to place 4 progress tokens is a solid effect. When you factor in the other potential ways it combos (Prince Imrahil, Valiance Sacrifice, Mustering), you have a very effective card.

I don't see him guaranteeing 4 progress tokens when he's used. He is worth 4 willpower to the quest, though.

My experiences with him in my Rohan deck is that he's fragile with that 1 hit point when committed. I only commit him when I can cancel a treachery. Otherwise he's fodder for Ride to Ruin or as a sac blocker.

Would you consider two resources a fair price for an event that adds four willpower to a quest? I think so. I don't think the Escort is too weak at all. Plus, if you factor in that he can chump block and activate the Horn of Gondor/Prince Imradil/etc, he's really a bargain.

I do find him a bit..disappointing...in that I imagine an escort from Rohan also being a competent fighter, but as a playable cards, he's cheap and effective.

gamestar10 said:

Bohemond said:

two resource plus a card to place 4 progress tokens is a solid effect. When you factor in the other potential ways it combos (Prince Imrahil, Valiance Sacrifice, Mustering), you have a very effective card.

I don't see him guaranteeing 4 progress tokens when he's used. He is worth 4 willpower to the quest, though.

My experiences with him in my Rohan deck is that he's fragile with that 1 hit point when committed. I only commit him when I can cancel a treachery. Otherwise he's fodder for Ride to Ruin or as a sac blocker.

If your not using him to quest, he is just a poor man's Snowborn Scout

Looking through it again I still think that resolving a quest means completing a stage of the quest rather than the quest resolution step of the turn. I pondered this to a fellow player and he concurs.

But considering how lengthy and repetative some recent rules discussions have been I'm content to agree to disagree. happy.gif

The_Big_Show said:

Looking through it again I still think that resolving a quest means completing a stage of the quest rather than the quest resolution step of the turn. I pondered this to a fellow player and he concurs.

But considering how lengthy and repetative some recent rules discussions have been I'm content to agree to disagree. happy.gif

This shouldn't be a contentious rules question. Look at the rules for the quest phase (p. 14 & 15). Step 3 of the quest phase is "quest resolution". The example on page 15 specifically refers to "resolving a quest." The rules and the examples clearly show that "resolving" a quest has nothing to do with completing a stage of a quest card, but refers to the third stage of the quest phase.

As always, its a cooperative game, so you can play however you like. In this cause, you are choosing to ignore clear and explicit rules.

Bohemond said:

The_Big_Show said:

Looking through it again I still think that resolving a quest means completing a stage of the quest rather than the quest resolution step of the turn. I pondered this to a fellow player and he concurs.

But considering how lengthy and repetative some recent rules discussions have been I'm content to agree to disagree. happy.gif

This shouldn't be a contentious rules question. Look at the rules for the quest phase (p. 14 & 15). Step 3 of the quest phase is "quest resolution". The example on page 15 specifically refers to "resolving a quest." The rules and the examples clearly show that "resolving" a quest has nothing to do with completing a stage of a quest card, but refers to the third stage of the quest phase.

As always, its a cooperative game, so you can play however you like. In this cause, you are choosing to ignore clear and explicit rules.

This. First of all, that wouldn't be a negative drawback at all if it only meant when a quest stage is completed. Simply don't quest him when you think you might complete the stage.

Second, you resolve questing every single quest phase. I'm not sure how this could be more simple.

It's not a case of it being a simple or hard issue. I know what the rulebook says and I know what the card says. The card says when you resolve a quest. A quest not after you guest. Resolve a quest means when you complete a stage of. Otherwise it would say after quest resolution.

The_Big_Show said:

It's not a case of it being a simple or hard issue. I know what the rulebook says and I know what the card says. The card says when you resolve a quest. A quest not after you guest. Resolve a quest means when you complete a stage of. Otherwise it would say after quest resolution.

Page 15 in the rulebook has a giant example titled "Resolving a Quest". In the example, 1 progress token is placed on the quest. The quest is not completed.

If it meant when a quest stage was completed it would say "when a quest stage is completed". "Resolving a quest" consistently refers to the end of the quest phase, and is nowhere used to mean completing a quest stage.

"Example: Resolving a Quest
1. Tom exhausts Éowyn to commit her to the quest. Kris exhausts both Aragorn and the Guard of the
Citadel to commit them to the quest. A Gladden Fields location card is already in the staging area.
2. The players reveal 1 card per player from the encounter deck, and add them to the staging area.
3. The players add up the total committed Ò and compare it to the total $ in the staging area. This
results in a 7 Ò to 7 $ stalemate. Tom uses Éowyn's card ability to give the players an additional
point of Ò, which allows them to place 1 progress token on the current quest card."