Elder Sign: FAQ Questions

By YourBestFriend, in Elder Sign

benniejolink said:

I would like some clarification on the following points:

I would like to point out that this thread (and forum) is for Elder Sign , not Elder Sign: Omens .

If you want to ask questions concerning the Elder Sign: Omens app , then please use the appropriate forum, -> Elder Sign: Omens . This forum is for the boardgame .

xris,

While not definitive, I've played 30+ games and attended the Arkham Nights Event a few months ago, so I hope these responses provide some level of clarity.

(A) I play by the "ii" method. After rolling, I determine if I can complete one of the tasks, which defeating a Monster will (or may) do so.

(B) Like all Spells , the rules state they must be cast before rolling dice. Having played with R.L. at the event, the FAQ will no doubt clarify this to read, "After rolling the dice, the player may cast a Spell ..."

© Yes, conforming with "i". Caveat: Provided that a Monster doesn't cover part of a Task. If that's the case, you would stillneed to roll the other icon to Complete the Task.

(D) You alwys gain the Monster if you defeat the Monster, regardless of completing the Task or the Card.

(E) Using either Flute of the Outer Gods or Bind Monster does Complete a Task. Thus, you DO NOT trigger the Terror Effects .

(F) Yes.

(G) No. (We did not during the Event)

(H) Here's how I play. I've defeated Hound of Tindalos with a spell or through the rolled dice result. The die becomes immediately available. Before I roll the balance of dice to complete another Task, I may expend a card with that die to use the die.

(I) Yes.

(J) Take it...you've earned it. Caveat: If the monster is covering (entirely or parially) a a Task. You don't want to forget that you've Completed that portion of the Task. Only then is it a good idea to flip the Monster marker over until the end of your turn.

Cheers,

The Professor