Characters dragon abilities vs dragon tower

By jabib, in Talisman Rules Questions

Mjallo.

I read somewhere "cant remember where" that characters dragon special abilities and items with bonusses against dragons, dosent work in the inner region.

Can this be true, and if so are there other abilities that dosent work aswell, such as followers,spells ?

Happy gaming.

Regards.

Jabib

jabib said:

I read somewhere "cant remember where" that characters dragon special abilities and items with bonusses against dragons, dosent work in the inner region.

Can this be true, and if so are there other abilities that dosent work aswell, such as followers,spells ?

Seems like you are right about this.

If i read page 8, then it says that cards and special abilities that only effect dragons, does not effect draconic lords or creatures in the inner region .

This means that you can not use the dragon objects that you find in the dragon tower, to attack those dragons. ( only for self defense)

so dragon priestess cannot pray by a dragon? You can also not use the dragon spear from the base game etc or other dragon weapons against it.

Velhart said:

jabib said:

I read somewhere "cant remember where" that characters dragon special abilities and items with bonusses against dragons, dosent work in the inner region.

Can this be true, and if so are there other abilities that dosent work aswell, such as followers,spells ?

Seems like you are right about this.

If i read page 8, then it says that cards and special abilities that only effect dragons, does not effect draconic lords or creatures in the inner region .

This means that you can not use the dragon objects that you find in the dragon tower, to attack those dragons. ( only for self defense)

so dragon priestess cannot pray by a dragon? You can also not use the dragon spear from the base game etc or other dragon weapons against it.

That statement is right there, but I really don't understand the way it's presented. It's in a separate box, where the "Dragon" trait on cards is explained, and it's never resumed or repeated in the rulebook. It looks like a leftover, something that has been considered for a certain time and then cancelled. This is not a good showcase for a rule like this.

In the Inner Region section (pages 12-13) it's clearly written that Draconic lords, creatures and Enemies encountered in the Inner Region/Dragon Tower can't be evaded and can't be affected by Spells. If the limitations were as per page 8 box, they should have been listed here as well.

That's something that needs to be fixed officially, just to sort out the scattered rule fragments. Thank you for pointing this out.

I don't think it's an oversight. I think the separate box is to make it stand out so it's easier to notice. I suspect most people have probably wondered whether the Inner Region Dragons and the Draconic Lord are affected by such cards, and putting it in a big box makes it clearer. At least that's what I think.

Well I don't agree with the rules at all in regards to the Prophetess not being able to use her ability on Dragon Cards or the Orb of Knowledge etc. I think it was a bad ruling. We house rule it the other way. We also allow the Holy Lance and other Objects to work when fighting Draconic Lords. They are still **** Dragons. They cannot be evaded though or affected by any Spell!

Ell.

There should be a reason why ffg made this rule.

Maybe to avoid problems, or that certain dragon cards are too powerful to use in the dragon tower.

Let's say that the dragon priestess will pray most of the time if she encounter a dragon in the dragon tower without going forward or backward. That would main that she will do nothing else during that turn.

I asssume that cards such as dragon stalkers can still be used because it has not direct effect on the dragon himself.

Maybe that we must also assume that there is some magical power inside the dragon tower, that makes the dragons immune to any dragon weapon, or any special ability that effects dragons. gui%C3%B1o.gif

Maybe the Draconic Lords are so old and ancient, that items which effect younger Dragons have minimal effect on them! :)

I was just looking at the spoiler list for the dragon expansion, and i saw that there are not too many cards that has no effect in the dragon tower

dragon bane, holy lance, wyvern staff, dragonet?, crown of domination.

i assume that you can still use dragon stalkers, because it has not direct effect on dragons.? (it only says that you get a extra turn if you defeat a dragon of some sort.

Edit: I think that all cards that has to do with dragons cannot be used in the inner region. That makes it simple...

How about dragon sleep?

If you draw 2 cards, the second card is not yet in play right?

so if you draw dragon sleep and a dragon, then it can't effect the dragon yet right?

This sort of thing has happen in my games once, when i drew 2 cards on the ruins, and the first card was earthquake. I should say it can't effect the second card..

I think that the rule you are talking about refers to the Draconic lords and the creatures in the inner region, like the hydra dragon and the hatchlings in the Dragonrealm, and not the dragon enemies in the Dragon tower...

Nidhögg said:

I think that the rule you are talking about refers to the Draconic lords and the creatures in the inner region, like the hydra dragon and the hatchlings in the Dragonrealm, and not the dragon enemies in the Dragon tower...

That's the big question.

The dragon tower is also the inner region.

so if what page 8 said is true, then you cannot use dragon abilities or cards that has to do with dragons in the dragon tower.

PS:i have sent a question to John goodenough, but i don't know if they will answer yet about the dragon expansion

The rule are stated like this:

"The term "Dragon" refers to any Enemy with the word "Dragon" in the card type box. Cards and special abilities that only affect Dragons do not affect Draconic Lords or creatures in the Inner Region."

I think it is written as it is because they whant to tell us that Dragons are only the enemy cards with the word dragon in them, not creatures on the board or "bosses" on the Crown of Command space..

Nidhögg said:

The rule are stated like this:

"The term "Dragon" refers to any Enemy with the word "Dragon" in the card type box. Cards and special abilities that only affect Dragons do not affect Draconic Lords or creatures in the Inner Region."

I think it is written as it is because they whant to tell us that Dragons are only the enemy cards with the word dragon in them, not creatures on the board or "bosses" on the Crown of Command space..

Ah, so this only refers to the dragon realm board.

Not the dragon tower?

i see the light now i think. the creatures in the dragon realm have no dragon keyword, because they are no cards.

The reason why i was confused is that the dragonrealm and the dragon tower are both inner regions.

So you can still use your followers, weapons or ability's in the dragon tower lengua.gif

You can only not use it against the endboss in the dragon tower