Redirect Damage Stacking

By DarkSeraph, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

Hey everyone,

I've been trying to find an answer for this but I haven't been able to come up with anything either in the forums or the FAQ. My question is this: does redirecting damage stack? For example, will Tyrion's ability stack with Bladelord or White Lion Vanguard, allowing me to redirect 3 damage and 2, respectively? If possible, I'd like an official ruling on this rather than house rules :P

Also, can Sword Masters of Hoeth block all combat damage, or just 3 and then the rest go straight to capital?

Thanks!

Most things stack in Invasion (like toughness and counterstrike). In your examples, however, it does not, since both White Lion Vanguard and Tyrion speak of "the first point of damage" that would be dealt to the unit, and there can only be one first point during a turn. When it got redirected, the second and all consecutive ones will be dealt normally, no matter how many "redirect the first point" effects you have. Same for Bladelord, it doesn't benefit from Tyrion at all. For the same reason, multiple Defend the Border quests don't provide any benefit.

Sword Masters of Hoeth absorbs all combat damage, since you can only assign damage to the zone once you have assigned enough to the defending units to destroy them, and it's never enough to destroy those guys.

Oh okay, thanks for the quick response! :)

This isn't a question about redirecting damage, but I thought I might as well ask here instead of making a new thread.

If I have Dreamer of Dragons in my kingdom zone, is it possible to have him take 2 extra damage at the beginning of my turn and draw an extra 2 resources for that turn? My gut instinct is no, but I do think it's possible to have him draw extra cards for you if he's in your quest zone.

There is no limit to using his ability, so yes, you can trigger it twice to get two extra power where ever it is, or three if for some reason you want it dead.

Hmm, so can you use it in time to get the extra resources at the beginning of your turn? Or is getting/replacing resources the very first thing you can do before taking any actions?

After a new turn begins (and all 'at the beginning of a turn' events finish resolving) you have an action window before anything else happens where you can trigger the dreamer. There's a detailed timing sequence precisely placing action windows in relation to resource collection and other stuff in the 1.5 FAQ if you have any further questions of the kind.

Thanks a bunch! :)