Couple questions

By Shad0wdrag0n, in Arkham Horror Second Edition

I'm a little confused about a couple things.

When a flying monster is at a location and there aren't any investigators on or adjacent to the location will the flying monster move to the street or the sky?

Say an investigator gets an arkham encounter that opens a gate. Will the investigator need to draw an other world encounter on the same turn, or do investigators only ever get an arkham encounter or an other world encounter each turn, not both? Also, during the movement phase of the next turn will the delayed investigator just stand up, or will he stand up and move to the second area of the other world? Being delayed means the investigator doesn't get any movement points, but it doesn't say anything about not moving in the other worlds (which doesn't require movement points).

If an investigator returns to arkham from an other world is he considered to have ended his movement on the location with the gate? For example, say there's a monster on the location with the gate. If an investigator moves from the other world to the location with the gate and the monster will the investigator have to evade or fight the monster?

Say a monster moves into a location or street with an investigator. During the next movement phase, if the investigator stays where he is will he still have to evade or fight the monster? Or will the investigator only have to evade or fight if he wants to move away?

Shad0wdrag0n said:

I'm a little confused about a couple things.

When a flying monster is at a location and there aren't any investigators on or adjacent to the location will the flying monster move to the street or the sky?

Say an investigator gets an arkham encounter that opens a gate. Will the investigator need to draw an other world encounter on the same turn, or do investigators only ever get an arkham encounter or an other world encounter each turn, not both? Also, during the movement phase of the next turn will the delayed investigator just stand up, or will he stand up and move to the second area of the other world? Being delayed means the investigator doesn't get any movement points, but it doesn't say anything about not moving in the other worlds (which doesn't require movement points).

If an investigator returns to arkham from an other world is he considered to have ended his movement on the location with the gate? For example, say there's a monster on the location with the gate. If an investigator moves from the other world to the location with the gate and the monster will the investigator have to evade or fight the monster?

Say a monster moves into a location or street with an investigator. During the next movement phase, if the investigator stays where he is will he still have to evade or fight the monster? Or will the investigator only have to evade or fight if he wants to move away?

If there are no investigators adjacent to a flying monster when it moves, it will move to the sky.

Arkham Encounters and Other World Encounters are two seperate phases. If you are in Arkham during the Arkham Encounters Phase, you have an Arkham Encounter. If you are in an Other World during the OW Encounter Phase, you have an OW Encounter. So, in that situation you will have the encounter that creates the gate he gets drawn through, and then he will have an OW encounter.

Delayed investigators do not move. They stand up instead of their movement, regardless of whether they have movement points or not. So even in Other Worlds, all a delayed investigator can do is stand up his marker; he doesn't also get to move.

Investigators do not have to ( but may choose to) interact with any monsters at that location, only on the turn in which he returns to Arkham.

The Investigator would still be ending his movement in the same location as the monster, even if he is not spending any movement points. You must fight/evade monsters when you are moving out of the same location as a monster, OR when you end your movement in the same location as a monster.

Delayed Investigators also receive 0 movement points...so no Tomes, etc

All cleared up here, but also remember that Investigators who begin the Movement Phase in an Otherworld receive no movement points, so whether you are delayed or not, no tomes that cost MPs can be read there.

thorgrim said:

If there are no investigators adjacent to a flying monster when it moves, it will move to the sky.

Really? We have always played it differently. When a flying monster is in a street area and moves, it can still fly to an investigator in another street area, even if it's not adjacent. Only if there are no investigators in the streets at all it moves to the Sky. I don't know if that's correct though, but it makes flying monster at least a bit nastier.

ninniach said:

thorgrim said:

If there are no investigators adjacent to a flying monster when it moves, it will move to the sky.

Really? We have always played it differently. When a flying monster is in a street area and moves, it can still fly to an investigator in another street area, even if it's not adjacent. Only if there are no investigators in the streets at all it moves to the Sky. I don't know if that's correct though, but it makes flying monster at least a bit nastier.

Thorgrim has it right. Page 11 of the revised rules states this clearly in the example box.

I'm pretty sure flying monsters only move toward investigators in adjacent connected street areas only (i.e. Rivertown to Merchent District, Downtown to Northside).

I've always played it where if a flying monster is in a location and there are no investigators in the street area connected to that location the monster first moves into the street. Then, if there are no investigators in a connected street area when it moves again, that monster moves to the sky. Check Arkham Horror rulebook, pg. 11, Flying Monsters diagram, rule C.

Kriiztos said:

I'm pretty sure flying monsters only move toward investigators in adjacent connected street areas only (i.e. Rivertown to Merchent District, Downtown to Northside).

I've always played it where if a flying monster is in a location and there are no investigators in the street area connected to that location the monster first moves into the street. Then, if there are no investigators in a connected street area when it moves again, that monster moves to the sky. Check Arkham Horror rulebook, pg. 11, Flying Monsters diagram, rule C.

The base rulebook, even the reprinted one, does read something like that, but the faq clears it up completely, as such:

A: Flying monsters move according to the following rules:

1. Flying monsters only move when their symbol comes up in the Mythos Phase, just like other monsters.

2. Flying monsters will not leave a space that already contains an investigator.

3. When a flying monster in a street area or location moves, it will either move to an adjacent street space that has an investigator in it, or failing that, move to the Sky.

4. When a flying monster in the Sky moves, it will move to any street space on the board with an investigator in it. If there’s more than one investigator to choose from, the monster moves into the space of the investigator with the lowest Sneak value. If the investigators’ Sneak values are the same, the first player chooses which investigator the monster moves toward, as usual. If there are no investigators in a street space, the monster remains in the Sky.

Obviously they just forgot to add "or location" to the text for page 11 part C.

Well... flying monsters just got a littler cooler.