Game rules and misinterpretation

By elidaman, in Talisman Rules Questions

I am playing with my coworkers and we always seem to debate on certain rules. I would appreciate if someone can respond and clear these misinterpretations.

Scenario1:

- There is a 'Varthrax Dragon Scale' at the 'Fields' which was dropped there previously by another player A. (He is not the Dragon King)

- Another player B lands on the 'Fields' and decides to encounter the 'Varthrax Dragon Scale'. He then pulls the 'Fire Drake' from the stack and loses the battle.

**Based on game rules the 'Fire Drake' remains there and the player does not obtain the dragon scale (We are all clear with this rule).

BUT (here is the question);

What occurs when Player C drops at the 'Fields'. If he battles the 'Fire Drake' which is already there does he also obtain the 'Varthrax Dragon Scale' (If he wins) -OR- No, he must first obtain another encounter enemy from the 'Varthrax Deck'??

Scenario 2:

How does the 'Merchant' 'Trade' ability work? Is it like the thieves ability? OR is it actually like a 'Trade'

Thanks

elidaman said:

Scenario 2:

How does the 'Merchant' 'Trade' ability work? Is it like the thieves ability? OR is it actually like a 'Trade'

No DE for me yet, so can't really talk about its rules. However, Merchant I can cover. Merchant player makes all the choices, only difference to the Thief is that he has to give something in return. Still, it's quite fun to say "Here, have this shiny Water Bottle and I'll take your Ring/Solomon's Crown/etc.", which ever nice, powerful Object that other player is holding.

So, a merchant can trade any item amongst players he lands on (If they have items to trade with).

elidaman said:

BUT (here is the question);

What occurs when Player C drops at the 'Fields'. If he battles the 'Fire Drake' which is already there does he also obtain the 'Varthrax Dragon Scale' (If he wins) -OR- No, he must first obtain another encounter enemy from the 'Varthrax Deck'??

As far as i understand the rules,..... if player C battles the Fire Drake, and he win the battle, then he may pick up the dragon scale on his space.

Thank you for the responses

We have another question;

DRAGON AMULET - Magic Object
* All of your dragon scales are considered to match your opponent during battle and psychic combat.

Can someone translate that in English... the " considered to match your opponent.."

Thanks

Normally, you only get the +1 in battle or psychic combat if your scale’s colour matches the dragon deck’s colour.


Example = If you have a Red Scale, you get the +1 against a Red Dragon deck enemy, but it is useless against a Gold Dragon Deck enemy or a Green Dragon Deck enemy.

Dragon Amulet’s Effect = The Scales you have are automatically the “right” colour, regardless of what colour they really are.

Example = You have a Red Scale AND the Dragon Amulet; then you get the +1 against the Red, Gold AND Green Dragon deck enemies.

Thanks, but to make sure i clearly understand you...

What if i have 3 red scales and one yellow? Would this equal as a +4 with a Dragon amulet against a green dragon/yellow/red....

YES!

2 red 2 green 2 yellow tokens, is a +6 to any colour dragon/enemie you meet :)

elidaman said:

Thanks, but to make sure i clearly understand you...

What if i have 3 red scales and one yellow? Would this equal as a +4 with a Dragon amulet against a green dragon/yellow/red....

Correct.

To look at it visually, it means while you have the Dragon Amulet, all your scales are "clear" and take whatever colour you need them to take. ("This round, they are Red. This Round they are Green. This Round, they are Gold. This Round, they are back to Green. Etc...")

Wow.. thanks.

What a great, but challenging game :) .

Velhart said:

elidaman said:

BUT (here is the question);

What occurs when Player C drops at the 'Fields'. If he battles the 'Fire Drake' which is already there does he also obtain the 'Varthrax Dragon Scale' (If he wins) -OR- No, he must first obtain another encounter enemy from the 'Varthrax Deck'??

Velhart said:

As far as i understand the rules,..... if player C battles the Fire Drake, and he win the battle, then he may pick up the dragon scale on his space.

I've asked myself the same question, if the scale has to be encountered OR if you just have to kill an enemy from a dragon deck (could be a cultist from another dragon lord deck that is not even matching the scale). From all i can tell from rules its the later.

Good point... So then a kill from the dragon cards = pickup the scale.

thanks

Hello Again my friends :)

I would like to know if you can use the 'riding horse' in the highlands? I know you cant in the dungeon.

Thanks.

elidaman said:

Hello Again my friends :)

I would like to know if you can use the 'riding horse' in the highlands? I know you cant in the dungeon.

Thanks.

I don't know where that information came from, but you CAN use a riding horse in the dungeon.

and off course, you can also use it in the highlands gui%C3%B1o.gif

Thank you! I think maybe i read some house rule post.. thought the dungeon be too narrow to have your hoses there.. then so would your mules :D

My bad. Thanks

:)

elidaman said:

Thank you! I think maybe i read some house rule post.. thought the dungeon be too narrow to have your hoses there.. then so would your mules :D

My bad. Thanks

:)

But still you can encounter a bronze dragon there happy.gif

Best regards

The Wizard said:

elidaman said:

Thank you! I think maybe i read some house rule post.. thought the dungeon be too narrow to have your hoses there.. then so would your mules :D

My bad. Thanks

:)

But still you can encounter a bronze dragon there happy.gif

Best regards

Yeah, and even worse, the battle hulk.

Have you seen how big that thing is on the picture?

Nidhögg said:

The Wizard said:

elidaman said:

Thank you! I think maybe i read some house rule post.. thought the dungeon be too narrow to have your hoses there.. then so would your mules :D

My bad. Thanks

:)

But still you can encounter a bronze dragon there happy.gif

Best regards

Yeah, and even worse, the battle hulk.

Have you seen how big that thing is on the picture?

But you cannot take a horse or mule there partido_risa.gif

I am not sure, but is it possible that 2th edition has a rule that horses and mules cannot go in the dungeon? lengua.gif

It is just that some have houseruled, that you cannot take or use your riding horse in the dungeon, but still you can encounter creatures as big as a tower happy.gif

Regards