If you have just completed a Warlock's quest, and are transported back to the Warlock's Cave - which now has a Dragon Scale on it (matching the current Dragon King) - do you still receive your Talisman or do you have to draw a Dragon card and defeat the beastie before receiving the Talisman?
Dragon Scale & Warlock's Cave
Triple "A" said:
If you have just completed a Warlock's quest, and are transported back to the Warlock's Cave - which now has a Dragon Scale on it (matching the current Dragon King) - do you still receive your Talisman or do you have to draw a Dragon card and defeat the beastie before receiving the Talisman?
You receive a Talisman as soon as you are teleported to the Warlock's Cave, as instructed on the space. Then, you encounter the space because you've been teleported to another space (check the flowchart at the end of Rulebook). The Dragon Scale matching the Dragon King must be encountered, you cannot encounter the Warlock's Cave again instead.
To quote from the FAQ:
"When a character completes his quest, he's teleported back to the Warlock's Cave, he gains the Talisman and his turn immediately ends (no further encounters)."
Shifting Spirit said:
To quote from the FAQ:
"When a character completes his quest, he's teleported back to the Warlock's Cave, he gains the Talisman and his turn immediately ends (no further encounters)."
This is correct. The completing of a Warlock's Quest does not follow the normal encounter sequence that other effects have!
Ell.
talismanamsilat said:
Shifting Spirit said:
To quote from the FAQ:
"When a character completes his quest, he's teleported back to the Warlock's Cave, he gains the Talisman and his turn immediately ends (no further encounters)."
This is correct. The completing of a Warlock's Quest does not follow the normal encounter sequence that other effects have!
Ell.
Thanks for pointing this out, I must have forgotten even though this is covered by the FAQ.
The_Warlock said:
You receive a Talisman as soon as you are teleported to the Warlock's Cave, as instructed on the space.
NO YOU ARE NOT TELEPORTED!
The Warlock space say: "When you complete the quest, the Warlock immedeatly teleports you back here..."
When the dragon king scale on the space its text have no effect!
So if you complete quest, you are not teleported, but have to wait until the dragon king changed!
Windyhead said:
The_Warlock said:
You receive a Talisman as soon as you are teleported to the Warlock's Cave, as instructed on the space.
NO YOU ARE NOT TELEPORTED!
The Warlock space say: "When you complete the quest, the Warlock immedeatly teleports you back here..."
When the dragon king scale on the space its text have no effect!
So if you complete quest, you are not teleported, but have to wait until the dragon king changed!
This is incorrect. This only applies if a character lands directly on the Warlock's Cave as part of his normal movement. It does not apply to a character completing a Warlock's Quest.
The character is teleported to the Warlock's Cave and receives a Talisman, his turn then ends!
If you want added clarification, just send John Goodenough the question!!!
Elliott (Rules Expert)
You can see it as the instructions concerning teleportation back to the cave is an effect of space at the time when you visited the space and aquired the quest, thus the encounter is not finished completely until you have completed the quest. But I would rather say that the effect are part of the rules and not actually tied to the space at all, just written there for simplicity.
talismanamsilat said:
This is incorrect. This only applies if a character lands directly on the Warlock's Cave as part of his normal movement. It does not apply to a character completing a Warlock's Quest.
The character is teleported to the Warlock's Cave and receives a Talisman, his turn then ends!
If you want added clarification, just send John Goodenough the question!!!
Elliott (Rules Expert)
So what about the Sentinel and Portal of power?
Character dont land exactly on it , but there is no way in middle region, or inner region through this spaces when gragon king scales on it!
Any FAQ is too old to answer this question!
Fogity said:
But I would rather say that the effect are part of the rules and not actually tied to the space at all, just written there for simplicity.
If a Dragon Scale which matches the current Draconic Lord is on the Sentinel Space or Portal of Power space, then a character may not pass through to the Middle or Inner Region respectively. This applies to a characters normal movement!
In other words when a character ends his normal movement in a space, he must either encounter a Dragon Scale, encounter the Space or encounter a character in the space; or if the Dragon Scale matches the current Draconic Lord, the character must encounter the Dragon Scale and he may not pass to the Middle or Inner Region!
A character completing a Warlock's Quest is not subject to this rule, as it is not part of a characters normal movement. A character completing a Warlock's Quest is immediately teleported back to the Warlock's Cave and receives a Talisman as his reward, his turn then immediately ends (page 4 of the current FAQ). If, however, a character lands on the Warlock's Cave as part of his normal movement and there is a Dragon Scale there which matches the current Draconic Lord, then the character must encounter the Dragon Scale and the instructions on the space must be disregarded!
This is the correct way to handle Dragon Scales!
Elliott.
I did not say to look in the FAQ; I said to contact John Goodenough if you disagree with my answer, even though my answer is correct lol
Elliott.