When does a player add to his characteristic fortune box?

By Doublehex, in WFRP Rules Questions

So, you know that big box next to your characteristic diamond? The game rules says that is your characteristic's fortune box.

But, it never says when you add to it. It says it's for all fortunes attributed to that characteristic - when the heck is that? Is it when you train a skill or specialise in one?

You have to buy a fortune dice and you record in the white box how many you have purchased over time. See advancement rules for the options on advancement, and the budget for each career card which notes fortune. You can only buy fortune dice in one of the two primary stats for your current career.

This is all pretty clear in the rules if you read them, TOA page 37 Advancement.

valvorik said:

You have to buy a fortune dice and you record in the white box how many you have purchased over time. See advancement rules for the options on advancement, and the budget for each career card which notes fortune. You can only buy fortune dice in one of the two primary stats for your current career.

This is all pretty clear in the rules if you read them, TOA page 37 Advancement.

Ah, that explains it! I read the Core Rulebook all over, but I skimmed TOA because I saw it mostly as a GM advice guide than anything.