Elder Sign Newbie questions

By Sdrolion, in Elder Sign

@xris.

Although I understand your reasoning I cannot fully concur with your conclusion.

If the use of an ally required the use of any arbitrary marker simply to count the number of times its skill had been used I would agree with you but since some allies specify a particular marker (stamina or sanity) it leaves the question in doubt, since there is no reason to choose one type of marker rather than another to simply mark that an ally's skill has been invoked.

Our reasoning is that invoking an ally's skill is the result of the player's character using whichever attribute was specified, mind or muscle, to coerce that ally. Hence if the character lacked the necessary marker, due to the particular attribute being reduced below two, he would not be able to invoke the ally's skill. One the other hand, we also decided that the character's markers would be returned if the ally was dismissed or had used all of its actions.

Perhaps it is simply a question of which side of All that is not forbidden is compulsory one wishes to favor. gui%C3%B1o.gif

...ef

1. When I buy items, spells and allies at the entrance do I draw the topmost card from the respective deck or do I pick whichever specific item /spell / ally I like?

2. When I use Mandy's ability to re-cast two dice and I am not satisfied with the results, if I spend a clue token to re-roll, do I re-roll the two dice I just re-rolled or do I re-roll up to all of my remaining dice?

Serazu said:

1. When I buy items, spells and allies at the entrance do I draw the topmost card from the respective deck or do I pick whichever specific item /spell / ally I like?

You draw the top card of the appropriate face-down deck. While the rules don't mention this I don't see any reason to think the procedure is any different to when you obtain the same items due to the Adventure card reward.

The rules tell you to shuffle these decks at the start of the game and the rules tell you to discard cards to the bottom of the appropriate decks. Nowhere does it mention you can inspect the decks and select a specific card so I think it is safe to say that when you purchase a card from the Entrance, you simply draw the top card of the deck.

Serazu said:

2. When I use Mandy's ability to re-cast two dice and I am not satisfied with the results, if I spend a clue token to re-roll, do I re-roll the two dice I just re-rolled or do I re-roll up to all of my remaining dice?

I don't see why you can't re-roll any of the dice if you spend a Clue. You could use Mandy's ability before or after the Clue re-roll. If you did use it before then you could re-roll none, one or both of the dice that were re-rolled due to Mandy's ability. I think the rules and FAQ suggest this is the intent.

xris said:

I don't see why you can't re-roll any of the dice if you spend a Clue. You could use Mandy's ability before or after the Clue re-roll. If you did use it before then you could re-roll none, one or both of the dice that were re-rolled due to Mandy's ability. I think the rules and FAQ suggest this is the intent.

Wait. Let's say then that I have a clue token and I roll 5 dice. I do not find the result to my liking. I spend the clue token. I may re-roll up to 5 of my rolled dice. No worries here.

Let's say now that, after the original unsatisfactory roll, I decide to use M.T.'s ability. I re-roll 2 dice. I still do not like the result. I decide to spend my clue token. Which is the maximum number of dice I may re-roll, 2 or 5?

And one more question. If a task calls for, let's say, two Horror and I roll only one and decide not to focus, but put the Horror die on a spell of mine. If my roll did not complete any task on the adventure, then I still failed the roll, so the subsequent one will still be 1 die less. Correct?

Serazu said:

Let's say now that, after the original unsatisfactory roll, I decide to use M.T.'s ability. I re-roll 2 dice. I still do not like the result. I decide to spend my clue token. Which is the maximum number of dice I may re-roll, 2 or 5?

In this example you may roll 5 dice.

Serazu said:

And one more question. If a task calls for, let's say, two Horror and I roll only one and decide not to focus, but put the Horror die on a spell of mine. If my roll did not complete any task on the adventure, then I still failed the roll, so the subsequent one will still be 1 die less. Correct?

Correct.

For example, you start with the 6 Green dice.

You roll the 6 Green dice and you obtain one Terror result (you needed two Terror to complete the Task).
You play a Spell and place the single Terror on the Spell.
Since you failed the task you have to put aside 1 die.

You now roll the 4 remaining Green dice. If you manage to roll one or more Terror results then you can complete the Task.
If you fail to roll any Terror, you then put aside 1 die.
You now roll the 3 remaining Green dice. If you manage to roll one or more Terror results then you can complete the Task.
If you fail to roll any Terror, you then put aside 1 die.
You now roll the 2 remaining Green dice. If you manage to roll one or more Terror results then you can complete the Task.
If you fail to roll any Terror, you then put aside 1 die.
You now roll the 1 remaining Green die. If you manage to roll a Terror result then you can complete the Task.
If you fail to roll any Terror, you have failed the Adventure and must take the Penalty.

Thank you for your answers. One more question: What happens if an adventure has an arrow and Amanda succeeds simultaneously in the second and the third task in her roll but not the first? Is she still considered to have succeeded in those tasks and re-rolls till the first one is also completed?

And another one: If a monster task demands a SAN / STA hit after resolving it, yet I defeat it through the use of a card, such as the Flute, do I still take the hit?

Last question for today: If a die is locked on a monster and I defeat that monster, that exact moment the die unlocks and I may use it, if I opt to do so (i.e. if I spend a unique / common item, depending on the dice), for the remainder of the adventure. This is how I see it from the rules, but am I right?

Serazu said:

Thank you for your answers. One more question: What happens if an adventure has an arrow and Amanda succeeds simultaneously in the second and the third task in her roll but not the first? Is she still considered to have succeeded in those tasks and re-rolls till the first one is also completed?

The point of the arrowed Adventure cards is that you have to complete the tasks in order. The top one first, then the second and so on. It doesn't matter if it is Amanda or anyone else, the top Task has to be completed first before the second can be started.

Therefore, Amanda cannot complete the second and third and then "go back" and try the first one.
You are aware that when you complete a Task, you leave the dice on the task.

Example, Tempest in a Teapot
You roll the 6 Green dice and have to try and complete the 4 Investigation requirement (the first Task on the card).
You roll 2 Investigation, 2 Investigation, 1 Investigation, Terror, Terror, Peril

You set two dice (2 Investigation, 2 Investigation) on the card so that they cover the first Task. The fact that you also completed the requirement for the second Task doesn't matter (unless you are playing Amanda) because you can only attempt the first Task in this example. You could if you wish play a Spell for example and save the Terror on the Spell ready to use next turn.

You now roll the remaining 4 Green dice and try and complete the second Task (a single Terror).
You roll 3 Investigation, 1 Investigation, Lore, Peril.

Since you have failed, you now need to set aside one die. If you wish you could Focus and save either the Peril or Lore. You could also play a Spell and save either the Peril or Lore on the Spell. Lets assume you Focus and save the Lore result.

You now roll the remaining 2 Green dice and try and complete the second Task (a single Terror).
You roll Terror, Peril.

You set the Terror on the card so that it covers the second Task. The fact that you also completed the requirement for the third Task doesn't matter (unless you are playing Amanda) because you can only attempt the second Task at this point.

You now roll the remaining one Green die and hope to roll a Peril because if you do then you have completed the Adventure Card (since you had Focussed a Lore earlier).

Serazu said:

And another one: If a monster task demands a SAN / STA hit after resolving it, yet I defeat it through the use of a card, such as the Flute, do I still take the hit?

If you use a "Defeat a monster" Item then you ignore any requirement on the monster task. So you would not, for example, take any Sanity or Stamina loss nor would you advance the clock.

Serazu said:

Last question for today: If a die is locked on a monster and I defeat that monster, that exact moment the die unlocks and I may use it, if I opt to do so (i.e. if I spend a unique / common item, depending on the dice), for the remainder of the adventure. This is how I see it from the rules, but am I right?

The rules and official FAQ are silent on this matter. You will have to decide for yourself how you wish to play this.

Personally, I play it such that when the monster is defeated then the die is immediately unlocked and is now available for use. In other words, I play it the same as you happy.gif If it was a Green die then it can be added to your dice pool. It it was Yellow or Red, then you can spend an Item to add it to your dice pool.

I base my view on the fact that dice become locked immediately (even if it is in the middle of your turn), if they become immediately locked then it would seem sensible for them to become immediately unlocked as well. Plus, one of the designers stated that when a monster is defeated then it is "flipped over", since it gets flipped over then the die is no longer on the locked dice symbol (it "falls" off the Monster so "returns" to being available again happy.gif ).

xris said:

Serazu said:

Last question for today: If a die is locked on a monster and I defeat that monster, that exact moment the die unlocks and I may use it, if I opt to do so (i.e. if I spend a unique / common item, depending on the dice), for the remainder of the adventure. This is how I see it from the rules, but am I right?

The rules and official FAQ are silent on this matter. You will have to decide for yourself how you wish to play this.

Personally, I play it such that when the monster is defeated then the die is immediately unlocked and is now available for use. In other words, I play it the same as you happy.gif If it was a Green die then it can be added to your dice pool. It it was Yellow or Red, then you can spend an Item to add it to your dice pool.

I base my view on the fact that dice become locked immediately (even if it is in the middle of your turn), if they become immediately locked then it would seem sensible for them to become immediately unlocked as well. Plus, one of the designers stated that when a monster is defeated then it is "flipped over", since it gets flipped over then the die is no longer on the locked dice symbol (it "falls" off the Monster so "returns" to being available again happy.gif ).

I based my assumption that the die unlocks on this:

Until that Adventure card is resolved, the Mythos card is no longer in
effect, or the task on that Monster marker is complete, that die
may not be added to die rolls and its result may not be used to
complete tasks.

Since it's an either/or situation, I followed the third instance and, since all it takes is to defeat the monster, I believe this is enough to instantly unlock the die. Your arguments are solid, as well.

As for Amanda, I just had a doubt since she has the ability to hit two (or more) birds with one stone. Obviously, this cannot help her defeat arrow quests, unless she follows the specific order.

No sound on iPad 2. Please help? Am I the only one?

Zydeco said:

No sound on iPad 2. Please help? Am I the only one?

Don't know but maybe you would be better served if you posted in the Elder Sign: Omens forum .

This forum is for the boardgame Elder Sign. If you wish to discuss the app Elder Sign: Omens then I would suggest you repost your comment in the appropriate forum happy.gif

You can navigate the following links from any page. Catalog > Media > Elder Signs: Omens > Message Board

So the Spells let you basically lock a die in your favor? And then it's locked onto that Adventure card until someone passes it? Only played twice and the Spells are the only part I don't quite get yet...

Fake Ghost Pirate said:

So the Spells let you basically lock a die in your favor? And then it's locked onto that Adventure card until someone passes it? Only played twice and the Spells are the only part I don't quite get yet...

You are almost right. The term "locked" is a bit of a misnomer because it implies certain conditions that don't apply to Spells, I can see why it gets used but you have to be careful that you really don't treat it as a locked die.

The Spell isn't locked or associated with an Adventure card. It's just "floating" in the ether waiting to be used. The dice held by the Spell are now available for any Investigator to use on their turn. Also, before rolling the dice, an Investigator may also remove dice held on Spells and add them to the other available dice (this is made clear in the Official FAQ).

As soon as dice are removed from a Spell, the Spell is discarded (as soon as there are no remaining dice on it) and the card is returned to the bottom of the Spell deck..

Dice held on Spells are still susceptible to other effects that cause die to be locked. For example, if "Gala in the Great Hall" appears and there is a Yellow die on a Spell, then the Yellow die gets moved to the Adventure card and the Spell is discarded.

A good use for Spells is when you complete an Adventure and you have some spare die left (that were not required to complete the Adventure card). Playing a Spell now to hold a die ready for the next Adventure is often a good step. For example, if "Gate to Elsewhere" was in play then holding a Lore result would help the next player complete that Adventure. Of course they can be used to help complete your Adventure but often it helps to look ahead and see what is needed.

xris said:

Serazu said:

Last question for today: If a die is locked on a monster and I defeat that monster, that exact moment the die unlocks and I may use it, if I opt to do so (i.e. if I spend a unique / common item, depending on the dice), for the remainder of the adventure. This is how I see it from the rules, but am I right?

The rules and official FAQ are silent on this matter. You will have to decide for yourself how you wish to play this.

Personally, I play it such that when the monster is defeated then the die is immediately unlocked and is now available for use. In other words, I play it the same as you happy.gif If it was a Green die then it can be added to your dice pool. It it was Yellow or Red, then you can spend an Item to add it to your dice pool.

I base my view on the fact that dice become locked immediately (even if it is in the middle of your turn), if they become immediately locked then it would seem sensible for them to become immediately unlocked as well. Plus, one of the designers stated that when a monster is defeated then it is "flipped over", since it gets flipped over then the die is no longer on the locked dice symbol (it "falls" off the Monster so "returns" to being available again happy.gif ).

ES:O functions that way.

HI all. Have some questions maybe dull one, but i can’t understand.
1. card: Koi Pound. Terror: You immediately fail this adventure.
To complete task i need few terror dice. But if I roll one I fail the card and take penalties?
Or i just put terror die on task and put 1 die aside?
Same question with card Something has broken free. Terror: You immediately fail this adventure.

2. Card The graveyard. Terror: Discard all terror dice.
How I could complete this task if I have to discard all the terror dice?
Or I just put one of it on task marker and one aside if I rolled 2?
How to understand this cards?

Thanks for reply beforehand

Bazo said:

HI all. Have some questions maybe dull one, but i can’t understand.
1. card: Koi Pound. Terror: You immediately fail this adventure.
To complete task i need few terror dice. But if I roll one I fail the card and take penalties?
Or i just put terror die on task and put 1 die aside?
Same question with card Something has broken free. Terror: You immediately fail this adventure.

Terror effects only take place if you FAIL to complete a task + roll a Terror on a die. If you need Terror to complete a task and the Adventure has such a fail like Koi Pond, if you succeed at a task while rolling a Terror, the Terror effect doesn't occur.

"When a player fails to complete a task and at least one of the
rolled dice produced a terror result, he resolves all Terror
effects on the Adventure card as well as any on the Mythos card
currently in play (see “Resolving Mythos Cards” on page 9)." (p. 7)

Bazo said:

2. Card The graveyard. Terror: Discard all terror dice.
How I could complete this task if I have to discard all the terror dice?
Or I just put one of it on task marker and one aside if I rolled 2?
How to understand this cards?

Normally when you fail a task, you need to remove 1 die, then roll again with the rest, but with this Adventure, if you fail + roll a terror, you toss all the terror dice + 1 die as normal. Again, if you succeed at a task, doesn't matter if you roll terrors, they only come into effect if you fail.