Some Dragon rule explenation

By Persiatic, in Talisman Rules Questions

Ok, so we played our first game with the dragon expansion yesterday and there was somethings around the tokens which where pretty unclear and not described in the rulebook.

1. When you encounter a space with a dragon token and choose to draw a dragon card, what happens to the token if you for example draw something else than an enemy? is the token removed from the space? Do you gain the token anyway?

2. When you encounter an space with a dragon token and choose to draw a dragon card, what happens to the token if you draw an enemy but are defeated? Will the token remain on the board or removed? meaning that a new token can possibiliy be placed on that space even tough there are a already drawn dragon enemy on the space?

3. Now according to the normal rules if there is a card on a space which is not draw adventure card space, you first encounter the cards and then the space. Is it the same with the dragon cards, this relates somewhat to the previous questions. For example if there is a dragon card on the village will you if you land on the village first encounter the dragon card and then the village as if it was a normal adventure card? So if it's an enemy and you get defeated you still encounter the village?

Hope these questions can be answered.

Persiatic said:

1. When you encounter a space with a dragon token and choose to draw a dragon card, what happens to the token if you for example draw something else than an enemy? is the token removed from the space? Do you gain the token anyway?

The Rulebook states that a Dragon Scale is claimed only if a Character kills an Enemy from a Dragon Card. If the Dragon Card is an Object/Place/Stranger/Follower/Event, it may stay on the space and the Dragon Scale is not removed or gained.

Persiatic said:

2. When you encounter an space with a dragon token and choose to draw a dragon card, what happens to the token if you draw an enemy but are defeated? Will the token remain on the board or removed? meaning that a new token can possibiliy be placed on that space even tough there are a already drawn dragon enemy on the space?

As per answer no.1, the Dragon Scale is not removed or gained. It stays on the space and is considered a face-up card, like the Carrion Drake in the example at page 12. If you encounter the space, you must encounter the face-up Dragon Card; if you encounter the Dragon Scale, you draw a new Dragon Card and then encounter all cards on the space. Remember that you're forced to encounter the Dragon Scale if it matches the current Dragon King.

Persiatic said:

3. Now according to the normal rules if there is a card on a space which is not draw adventure card space, you first encounter the cards and then the space. Is it the same with the dragon cards, this relates somewhat to the previous questions. For example if there is a dragon card on the village will you if you land on the village first encounter the dragon card and then the village as if it was a normal adventure card? So if it's an enemy and you get defeated you still encounter the village?

This is the correct way to handle face-up cards on non-draw card spaces (first face-up cards, then the space). However, if you're defeated by an Enemy your turns immediately ends and you don't visit the Village at all. This is a general rule, not a Dragon Expansion Rule.

Tnx a lot for the answers Mr Warlock. But I still can't find the statement that says that the dragon token remains on the board if it's a stranger/place/object/event card. It's not that I'm doubting you.

It's just that in this way it will be really hard to get rid of the dragon tokens from the outer region, in the beginning. No one can basically beat any dragons early and the healing spots like city village chapel easily gets a enemy on them preventing healing. The outer region started to fill up very quickly when we played, almost to the point that all spaces had a token in that region.

Maybe it was because we where a bit to eager to draw dragon cards even when we didnt have to, but still.

Another question:

If the current King gets 3 tokens on his card what happens? Does everyone in all regions get affected by dragon rage? or is it only the one that drew the third token? or no one?

Persiatic said:

Another question:

If the current King gets 3 tokens on his card what happens? Does everyone in all regions get affected by dragon rage? or is it only the one that drew the third token? or no one?

Nothing happens with the normal rule. You must still place a token on your space.

But there is a alternative rule when the current dragon king, becomes king for the second time.

If that happens, then the following effects are aplied to every space that has a dragon token that mathes the current king.

• All characters on the space suffer the Dragon Rage of the
Dragon King.
• All cards on the space are discarded, including any Adventure,
Dragon, Spell, and Purchase Cards as well as cards
from any other decks. Any dragon scales on the board
remain.
The wrath of the Dragon King is implemented after the
Draconic Lord is crowned, but before the character places a
dragon scale on his space.

Tnx for the answers, we will do another game this weekend. Hopefully we dont get as slaughtered by the as we did the last game :)

P.S Ministrel is now one of the best chars. =-)

If I kill an enemy on a dragon card, I claim a scale from the space I stay on. So if there is not a scale, I don't get a scale. Correct?

If I kill an enemy on a dragon card and after that I am defeated by another enemy, I still claim a scale if there is one on my space. Right?

Rimmer said:

If I kill an enemy on a dragon card, I claim a scale from the space I stay on. So if there is not a scale, I don't get a scale. Correct?

that's right, but the color of the scale must be the same as the enemy that you killed from that draconic lord card.

I think that this can happen in the dragon tower

If I kill an enemy on a dragon card and after that I am defeated by another enemy, I still claim a scale if there is one on my space. Right?

You have still defeated a enemy from a dragon card, so you can pick up the dragon token, if it matches the enemy symbol.

Thank you, Velhart.

I think it can happen even in other regions, that you kill an enemy from a dragon card and there is no scale for you. There is only one scale on a space but there can be a lot of dragons as characters have been encountering the scale repeatedly. You claim the scale only for your first dragon kill then.

Matching rule is also important. Thank your for reminding.

I looked in the rules again and there is no rule that says dragon scale must match with a killed dragon enemy to pick it up. Matching is important only if you use scales in fights.

Rimmer said:

I looked in the rules again and there is no rule that says dragon scale must match with a killed dragon enemy to pick it up. Matching is important only if you use scales in fights.

Hey Rimmer,

i have also look through the rules, and you are right.

It says nothing about that you only can piick up the scale if you defeat that specific dragon.

But if i think more about it, only one dragon token can be placed on a space, so you can´t encounter dragons from different decks.

and about the dragon tower would be the same..

My Dragon expansion came today and there are some occasions when there is more than one scale on a space.

There is even an object that allows you to draw from a dragon lord deck of your choice.

You'll see ;)

From the rulebook:

"If a character kills an Enemy from a Dragon Card he may claim the Dragon Scale on his space and place it in his play area." (p.11)

So you dont need to have a scale-card matching: you just need an Enemy from any of the three Dragon Card types.
That mismatching can happen frequently; some examples are the Dragon Decree event (Grilipus, place cards of the Dragon King on every space that has got a scale) or using the Firelands Envoy follower (Varthrax, you may draw Dragon Card from any deck when you encounter a scale).