I bought Arkham - it's the first board game of this type that I have bought. I am an old "dungeon crawl" (computer) gamer.
I am confused about one of the rules - nobody else seems to be confused about this, so maybe I am misreading the rules.
In the Mythos phase, suppose I draw a card that opens a new gat. If the card says "2 Monsters appear in Northside", does that mean that one monster appears at the random gate, and two more appear the Nothside - for a total of three new monsters on the board? Or does it mean that only 2 monsters appear at Northside, and no monster appears on the newly opened gate?
If there are no monsters specified on the Mythos card, does one automatically appear at the newly opened gate? Or do none appear unless specified on the Mythos card?
Thanks,
Mike