Dragon Expansion Questions

By Talismangeek, in Talisman Rules Questions

Awesome expansion, few questions:

1. First off, this is a general question that has likely been asked before, but when something is added to your die roll, (die being singular) does it also apply to your dice roll? (dice being plural). Example, "add 1 to your die roll when praying". Can you add 1 to your "dice" roll when praying at the temple?

2. If current dragon king gets 3 tokens, same rules apply as crowning new king except he remains king?

3. Dragon Priestess - When performing a ritual after rolling the die for praying, do you have to sacrifce any followers you use to add 1 to the score or can they be used repeatedly? It says you may "use" all, none, or some of your followers. Is the intent of this ability for cultist followers only?

4. Dragon Priestess - When sacrficing objects or followers to a dragon, can you sacrifice bad followers such as hag, poltergeist, or objects such as loadstone?

5. Minotaur - For stampede ability, you may add the result of your movement die to your strength. Are spells, objects and followers that add to your movement included? (maybe only if they specifically say they add to your die roll and not just to your movement?) Can this ability be used with the riding horse? If you say no because of common sense, then can you use the warhorse while stampeding?

6. Dragon Rider - When you enslave a dragon you may add up to 3 to your die roll. Can this be combined with spells, objects or followers that add to your movement? Can this ability be used with riding horse?

7. Conjurer (my favorite) - You may conjur whenever you encounter a space with instructions to draw one or more adventure cards. If the space does not already have any adventure cards , you may move a faceup card there. Does this then mean, if you are on a space with instructions to draw 2 adventure cards for example, and there is already 1 card on the space, are you not able to conjure a card instead of drawing the second card?

Any responses appreciated.

Talismangeek said:

Awesome expansion, few questions:

1. First off, this is a general question that has likely been asked before, but when something is added to your die roll, (die being singular) does it also apply to your dice roll? (dice being plural). Example, "add 1 to your die roll when praying". Can you add 1 to your "dice" roll when praying at the temple?

2. If current dragon king gets 3 tokens, same rules apply as crowning new king except he remains king?

3. Dragon Priestess - When performing a ritual after rolling the die for praying, do you have to sacrifce any followers you use to add 1 to the score or can they be used repeatedly? It says you may "use" all, none, or some of your followers. Is the intent of this ability for cultist followers only?

4. Dragon Priestess - When sacrficing objects or followers to a dragon, can you sacrifice bad followers such as hag, poltergeist, or objects such as loadstone?

5. Minotaur - For stampede ability, you may add the result of your movement die to your strength. Are spells, objects and followers that add to your movement included? (maybe only if they specifically say they add to your die roll and not just to your movement?) Can this ability be used with the riding horse? If you say no because of common sense, then can you use the warhorse while stampeding?

6. Dragon Rider - When you enslave a dragon you may add up to 3 to your die roll. Can this be combined with spells, objects or followers that add to your movement? Can this ability be used with riding horse?

7. Conjurer (my favorite) - You may conjur whenever you encounter a space with instructions to draw one or more adventure cards. If the space does not already have any adventure cards , you may move a faceup card there. Does this then mean, if you are on a space with instructions to draw 2 adventure cards for example, and there is already 1 card on the space, are you not able to conjure a card instead of drawing the second card?

Any responses appreciated.

Answer 1: You can still add 1 to your dice roll when praying at the temple with the priest, monk etc

Answer 2: I think he remains a King. There are also special rules in the rulebook if you want to make it harder when a king becomes a king again gui%C3%B1o.gif

answer 3. I think that it is for all followers that the dragon priestess has.You don't have to sacrifice them to let them pray with you.

answer 4: Yes, bad followers can be used in the same way as normal followers when you can get rid of them with a ability or on a space etc. The only thing what you may not do is ditch them.

answer 5: difficult question, but i think that if followers, objects or spells add points to your movement, then you can use it with the stampede ability.

But a horse has his own movement, and i would say that you can't combine them.

answer 6: difficult question. but if there is a card that can give you a +1 to your movement, you could use it with your ability.

answer 7: you need to land on a empy space to use your conjure ability

Talismangeek said:

1. First off, this is a general question that has likely been asked before, but when something is added to your die roll, (die being singular) does it also apply to your dice roll? (dice being plural). Example, "add 1 to your die roll when praying". Can you add 1 to your "dice" roll when praying at the temple?

Yes, because you add the bonus to the total result of the die (or dice) roll. Adding that bonus is optional. The Knight can even add up to 2 to the die roll (add 0, 1 or 2).

Talismangeek said:

2. If current dragon king gets 3 tokens, same rules apply as crowning new king except he remains king?

Yes, you place his Dragon Scale on the Character's current space (or other eligible space) and discard the remaining two.

Talismangeek said:

3. Dragon Priestess - When performing a ritual after rolling the die for praying, do you have to sacrifce any followers you use to add 1 to the score or can they be used repeatedly? It says you may "use" all, none, or some of your followers. Is the intent of this ability for cultist followers only?

As I read it, you perform a ritual without sacrificing anybody. Sacrifice happens when you encounter a Dragon and decide to offer a sacrifice instead of fighting and you roll for praying as at the Temple instead. After offering a sacrifice, you may perform a ritual to improve the result.

Perfoming a ritual doesn't require to discard any Follower. You may use none, some or all your Followers to add to the die roll. Basically, a Dragon Priestess with a good set of Followers will easily gain what she wants from the Temple.

Talismangeek said:

4. Dragon Priestess - When sacrficing objects or followers to a dragon, can you sacrifice bad followers such as hag, poltergeist, or objects such as loadstone?

Yes, as Velhart explained. There was some indication in the past that you can sacrifice those Objects/Followers only if you don't have any other choice, but this has never been officialized. As per rules, you cannot ditch them but they count as Objects/Followers for any other purpose (abilities, quests, etc...)

Talismangeek said:

5. Minotaur - For stampede ability, you may add the result of your movement die to your strength. Are spells, objects and followers that add to your movement included? (maybe only if they specifically say they add to your die roll and not just to your movement?) Can this ability be used with the riding horse? If you say no because of common sense, then can you use the warhorse while stampeding?

I would apply consistently the previous rules for movement-related abilities/spells. The result of your movement die is the number you rolled with the die. Modifiers do not apply (e.g. if you roll 1 and move 2 spaces with the Walking Stick, the roll still counts as a 1 for Reaper movement). With the Riding Horse you cannot use this ability, because it requires you to roll A die (=a single die). You may argue that I said something different about praying, but so has been ruled so far, if I didn't miss something. Surely the Warhorse will work: this is not a RPG and being unable to stampede with Riding Horse does not imply that a Warhorse has the same effect; it's just rule application. Riding Horse makes you roll 2 Dice and changes the movement mechanics, while Warhorse gives a bonus in battle.

Talismangeek said:

6. Dragon Rider - When you enslave a dragon you may add up to 3 to your die roll. Can this be combined with spells, objects or followers that add to your movement? Can this ability be used with riding horse?

It adds up to 3 to the movement die roll. It can be combined, provided that the card text does not contradict the "single die" references. A Walking Stick combined with the captured Dragon gives you the ability to add up to 4 to the movement die roll and a Flying Carpet will still be triggered by a natural 6 (not a 3+3 or such). This rules out the Riding Horse as usual.

Talismangeek said:

7. Conjurer (my favorite) - You may conjur whenever you encounter a space with instructions to draw one or more adventure cards. If the space does not already have any adventure cards , you may move a faceup card there. Does this then mean, if you are on a space with instructions to draw 2 adventure cards for example, and there is already 1 card on the space, are you not able to conjure a card instead of drawing the second card?

Exactly. If there are any cards on the space, the Conjurer can't use her ability. I don't know if this was intentionally ruled this way to avoid problems with two Adventure Cards with the same number, most especially Strangers and Places. Let's say the Conjurer lands on the Ruins with the Leper already face-up; if she conjures the Healer there, who is she encountering first? Rules say In the case of a tie, the character encounters Adventure Cards in the order they were drawn , but who remembers when both cards have been drawn? Better to remove the problem instead of fixing it later.

As a sidenote to question 7, I beleive that if you land on a draw 2 or 3 cards space such as hidden valley or ruins and use the conjure ability due to no other cards on the space then you would still also have to draw extra cards after bringing another card to the space to make up the card total. this means that if you conjure a juicy object to the hidden valley you would have to still draw 2 more cards to make a total of 3 cards. potentially you could subsequently lose a fight and have to end your turn missing out on gaining that nice object that was conjured.

Thanks for the input. More or less how I interpreted most of it, just nice to have something to refer to when the questions arise in a game. They could have been more clear however to avoid the die/dice confusion. As in, "you can add 1 to your roll/score when praying" or something like that. So if I understand correctly, if it says "add 1 to your die roll", that can be plural (in all cases?), but if it says "whenever a character rolls A die" then it has to be singular?

I have been playing Talisman since the 2nd edition, and I wanted to give some input on number 4 regarding "bad followers" and "bad objects". While I always say: "Play to your preference" (i.e. whatever house rules make it the most fun for you and those you play with), I have always played that "bad" followers and objects can only be discarded in regards to the rules on the card. Many of them (such as the Hag and Poltergeist) are actually listed as "events" that you "take as a follower". Since the cards give instructions for how they may be discarded we have always played that the instruction supercedes a place, event, etc.

i.e. Hag:" ...unit you rid yourself of the Hag by visiting the Village Mystic (even if he ignores you). You may then discard her. "

Poltergeist: " Its only effect is to slow your movement... " and " You can only rid yourself of it by crossing the River, either by bridge, raft, or ferry. You must then discard it. "

False Grail: " ...until you rid yourself of the Grail by visiting the Castle. You may then discard it. "

While being able to use events, spells, places, etc to discard "bad" followers and objects makes the game easier, we have always felt that it greatly reduces the impact of the cards (which often can change the course of a game). They're cursed for a reason and I can't think of any evil being that would want to be cursed of their own volitian lol.

Either way, Talisman is a blast, so enjoy it!

The_Warlock said:

Talismangeek said:
1. First off, this is a general question that has likely been asked before, but when something is added to your die roll, (die being singular) does it also apply to your dice roll? (dice being plural). Example, "add 1 to your die roll when praying". Can you add 1 to your "dice" roll when praying at the temple?

The_Warlock said:
Yes, because you add the bonus to the total result of the die (or dice) roll. Adding that bonus is optional. The Knight can even add up to 2 to the die roll (add 0, 1 or 2).

I would like to agree (because it makes the knight char much more interesting) but I dont. If i remember correctly the die/dice issue has been discussed regarding using Clockwork Owl (LoD reward), and such cards, and Riding Horse together and it was agreed upon that they were not compatible since you didnt roll a die for your move and the card says "move up to your die roll".

Same should go for praying :S

Please explain why you think otherwise.

The_Warlock said:

5. Minotaur - For stampede ability, you may add the result of your movement die to your strength. Are spells, objects and followers that add to your movement included? (maybe only if they specifically say they add to your die roll and not just to your movement?) Can this ability be used with the riding horse? If you say no because of common sense, then can you use the warhorse while stampeding?

I would apply consistently the previous rules for movement-related abilities/spells. The result of your movement die is the number you rolled with the die. Modifiers do not apply (e.g. if you roll 1 and move 2 spaces with the Walking Stick, the roll still counts as a 1 for Reaper movement). With the Riding Horse you cannot use this ability, because it requires you to roll A die (=a single die). You may argue that I said something different about praying, but so has been ruled so far, if I didn't miss something. Surely the Warhorse will work: this is not a RPG and being unable to stampede with Riding Horse does not imply that a Warhorse has the same effect; it's just rule application. Riding Horse makes you roll 2 Dice and changes the movement mechanics, while Warhorse gives a bonus in battle.

..and when I contnued reading you adressed the very subject I was writing about. I still think its inconsistent though.

Nioreh said:

..and when I contnued reading you adressed the very subject I was writing about. I still think its inconsistent though.

It's true. It's not my thinking which is inconsistent, but the interpretation that was given about the difference die/dice.

The movement received an acceptable clarification. Perhaps the problem with praying is the inadequate wording of the abilities in the base set (Monk and Priest). Everybody knows that these abilities apply to all situations with the "pray" keyword, which are very few in the base game but were increased by the expansions. Also notice that the 4ER Graveyard has "pray" instead of "invoke the spirits", to further expand the possibilities of praying in case your Priest/Monk is turned to Evil. The Temple is the best place to go with Characters that have a bonus in "praying"; it has always been so, they only failed to get the proper wording.

What grieves me the most is that they're not releasing an updated FAQ, thus forcing me, you and all the users/players to review and discuss the same things over and over again.

Yes the updated FAQ really needs to be done by FFG. Time for those guys to spend a bit more time on us!

Ell.

I could'nt agree more =P