Assault uphill

By Dogma79, in Tide of Iron

You can assault an adjacent hex after movement.

When you have moved 3 hexes with a squad on level-0 ground, you can still assault a Level-1 hill?

The rules say yes, I think....

Correct happy.gif

Thanks for confirming that. The rules never clearly addressed that situation but seemed to imply that it was allowed. I'm glad to hear I've been playing it correctly!

Then how about a level 2 hex, from level 0? ;-)

Assault from lvl 0 to lvl 2 is not possible, however supporting an assault against lvl 2 from lvl 0 is possible.

Hilman said:

Assault from lvl 0 to lvl 2 is not possible, however supporting an assault against lvl 2 from lvl 0 is possible.

What about the Scaling Upcliffs (or what it's exactly card) from Normandy, allowing to go from lvl 0 to lvl 2 directly? Important on the beach scenarios, esp. the bunker hexes. I don't think it should be possible to assault, but we found no rule against it, and so allowed it.

I have not yet tried the Normandy expansion, and therefore not read the card you are refering to, but the cards are made to mix things up and add special rules so why not.

Well yeah, the problem is, the card says: "A squad using this movement may not assault this turn."

Now: A squad is on Lvl 0 next to Lvl 2 and assaulting this Lvl 2 hex - but not moving up. Can it use this card to assault then? It's not moving up using this card, which would forbid it clearly, but may it assault then? Or is assaulting (but remaining in place) a "movement" here in itself?

Full text, just for your interest:

Scaling Cliffs

Your Squads may move directly to level 2 terrain from level 0 terrain by spending 3 MP. A squad using this movement may not assault this turn. A squad may not move directly into a building or bunker using this movement.

CthIngo said:

Well yeah, the problem is, the card says: "A squad using this movement may not assault this turn." Now: A squad is on Lvl 0 next to Lvl 2 and assaulting this Lvl 2 hex - but not moving up. Can it use this card to assault then? It's not moving up using this card, which would forbid it clearly, but may it assault then? Or is assaulting (but remaining in place) a "movement" here in itself? Full text, just for your interest:

Scaling Cliffs

Your Squads may move directly to level 2 terrain from level 0 terrain by spending 3 MP. A squad using this movement may not assault this turn. A squad may not move directly into a building or bunker using this movement.

Eh? This is a card to scale cliffs. That is not normally allowed. This card allows you to scale cliffs. It also provides some restrictions in using this movement. An assault requires you to move into a hex. This card doesn't allow you to assault from below a cliff. It allows you to climb the cliff in one turn, then you may do an assault from a later turn.

To close this topic: Rob Kouba answered my question to FFG. No, it is not allowed to assault from level 0 to level 2, even with the Scaling Cliffs card.

Thanks!