Overwatch's interrupt

By Otar, in Tannhauser

Hi, im new here and i only played Tannhaüser once, but i got a question about the timing of the interrupt from overwatch.

Lets say the char A is on overwatch and the char B that's on the same path but 1 circle away from the next path and he moves away from char A to the other path trying to remove LoS from char A, the interrupt takes place on the circle he started the movement and char A can hit him or the interrupt takes place after the first move and since he's on another path, char A cant shoot char B.

P. 26-27 Revised rule book.

Overwatch occurs after the character has moved and only if a character moved onto a cricle on the path of the overwatch character, so if your opponent moved out of LOS of your overwatch character, there is no overwatch opportunity.

Thanks, i didnt read the rules it was just explained to me. But what if the said char, instead of moving wanted to fire at the overwatch guy? Does the overwatch happens before or after the active char action?

Im asking because it makes no sense that you can shoot first if they are going to shoot you, but you cant shoot first if they are going to move out of range.

If the overwatch is triggered by an action, then the overwatch occurs before the action.

I see you point, but this would only occur at the very extremes of the path on which the overwatch was stationed.

imagine it as if the overwatch bullets plaster into the wall, as the character being shot at ducks and slips around the corner... ;)

If the character is closer to the character on overwatch and moves one circle away (or tries to move closer) then the overwatch character can still hit them as they are still on the same path, so overwatch is useful for defending an area, more so than stopping someone moving away from you (unless they are very close to you to start with).

Ok thanks, got it. Still dont like it but i got it. And what happens to the overwatch on the case? Does he spend it or since the other char is out of path you dont even get to trigger it and still can use it later?

And what i think its my last question about overwatch. If the opposite occurs? A char thats outside of the overwatch path try to enter it, does the first movement getting inside the path trigger the overwatch? or you gotta wait for the char to act or move even further?

Otar said:

And what happens to the overwatch on the case? Does he spend it or since the other char is out of path you dont even get to trigger it and still can use it later?

And what i think its my last question about overwatch. If the opposite occurs? A char thats outside of the overwatch path try to enter it, does the first movement getting inside the path trigger the overwatch? or you gotta wait for the char to act or move even further?

The overwatch doesn't start in this case, and it can be used later.

When a character came in the same path, you could start the overwatch immediately, yes "could" because the overwatch is always an action at your discretion.