Does Georgei count as a merc when he is used by a matriarchy player? This could be important in the case of the special toke "shame of minos", for example. He has the merc afilation symbol, all right, but I think the intention of the designers was to introduce him as a standart char when fighting for matriarchy. Any opinions?
Gorgei a mercenary when used as a matriarchy Char?
I see your point .... but I would certainly 'house rule' him as being an integral part of the matriarchy when playing him
-Nhoj
Goegeï has the Matriarchy Affiliation stamp on his card so he IS able to join the Matriarchy as regular character, without paying the extra cost IMHO.
Rules pag 9:
"Some characters – including Wolf and Gorgeï Volkov – are MERCENARIES (capital red letters on the book)
[...]
Some mercenaries are described as faction loyal . This means that they will not work against their home faction. Gorgeï is Matriarchy faction loyal, and may not be chosen by a team that is fighting against the Matriarchy."
The simbol of Mercenary change the sense of the next simbol from affiliated to faction loyal.
So he isn't an affilaed for all the other rules.
I see we have some agreement here.
So, he also won´t be able to equip the wolf/bear trap when fighting along matriarchy team, as he does not longer count as a merc, right?
Carlos Castaneda said:
This is written nowhere in the rules.
Gorgeï simply has both the Matriarchy AND the Mercenary Affiliations which means he may be treated as both of them. IFGorgeï only had the Mercenary Symbol like WOLF or Asteros then, yes, the Matriarchy would have to pay to engage him.
Well, you're free to pay for him, but we play him like this since he's been released by Take On You and unless FFG proves me wrong, I'll continue to play it this way
Plageman said:
Well, you're free to pay for him, but we play him like this since he's been released by Take On You and unless FFG proves me wrong, I'll continue to play it this way
No problem, I don't want to change your gameplay and I think you must play as you want even if FGG give me reason, I just said what I think the rule means
@Katsuyori: Gorgei is always able to equip the wolf/bear trap, because I think he is always a mercenary, but he doesn't fight against his matherland.
Carlos Castaneda said:
@Katsuyori: Gorgei is always able to equip the wolf/bear trap, because I think he is always a mercenary, but he doesn't fight against his matherland.
I agree. Since he has the Mercenary affiliation stamp he can equip the Wolftrap. The funny thing is that Asteros is also a mercenary and so, yes, he could equip it too.