redirecting damage.

By LFenix, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

I thought i had it clear already but suddenly some doubts showed up.

Can you redirect out of combat damage? And uncancelable damage?

For example, let´s say a Bladelord (redirect the next 2 damage dealt to this unit to another target unit in any corresponding zone) and in front there is a Bloodthirster (damage can´t be cancelled)

Does that have something to do? I know redirect is not same as cancel, but I´m unsure ir redirecting is included in the same "pack" as cancelable.

To sum up, is there any damage I can do to Bladelord that doesn´t allow it to redirect the damage?

Thanks in advance!

LFenix said:

Can you redirect out of combat damage? And uncancelable damage?

Yes for both question.

1- It's writen that you can redirect "damage" it's not limited to "combat damage"

2- When you redirect damage your are not cancelling damage.

LFenix said:

For example, let´s say a Bladelord (redirect the next 2 damage dealt to this unit to another target unit in any corresponding zone) and in front there is a Bloodthirster (damage can´t be cancelled)

Does that have something to do? I know redirect is not same as cancel, but I´m unsure ir redirecting is included in the same "pack" as cancelable.

Redirected damages are not cancelled damages. So you can redirect the damage from Bladelord to Bloodthirster.

LFenix said:

To sum up, is there any damage I can do to Bladelord that doesn´t allow it to redirect the damage?

Actually no.

A card effect that could prevent damage from being redirected, should be "until the end of turn damage can not be redirected " such card does not exist yet.

I´ll have to go with imperium´s rocketlauncher and jugment of hoeth for now then ^^

Thanks

Ok, something even trickier I just thought about.

Acording to rulles (including up to date FAQs I believe), non-combat damage is assigned and dealt inmediatly, before any other actions can take place.

And when you read about redirecting damage, it says damage is redirected "after assigning but before dealing" the damage.

So... in the case of swordmaster, eventhough the affect is a constant effect, there´s no action window between assigning and dealing the damage for the it to kick in. And the rulles (again updated ones) say under constant effects that "when the condition is triggered, it must be resolved in the first available action window or will not be resolved at all.

Now, there´s no action window available before the damage is dealt. Kind of like trying to heal a unit that has gotten fatal damage. There´s no window between dealing damage and taking the unit to the discard pile, so you just can´t do it.

So I´d say it´s a hidden way of saying non-combat damage can´t be redirected...

No action windows is needed.

It is a constant effect, as you said. Action window are required only for action

Non combat damage are redirectable or not depending of the "source" of the redirection.

If the "source" of the redirection is an action you can not. If the source is a forced/constant effect you can. The part of the FAQ you are talking is about action .

In the case of the Bladelord it is a constant effect, there is no need to get an action window, as you are not resolving an action .

Look at War Hydra errata p2 of 1.5 FAQ. The errata is about a similar point. (because before the errata war hyda ability was an action)