Blessings of tzeentch

By LFenix, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

Something wierd happened today: 2 chaos players, 1 against the other.

Now, the first uses Blessings of tzeentch, whose most recent description ( I think) is: sacrifice a unit. If you do bla bla bla.

In response, the 2nd player plays 1 of the 100 cards that deal damage, killing the unit declared sacrifice.

So, the question is: When do you select the target of a card? when it resolves or when it is played and it´s cost is payed?

To clarify, in this particullar case, can/must the 1st player sacrifice another unit?? Or does is the Blessings card simply discarted because the selected target is "no longer a valid target"??

Thanks in advance :)

About Blessing of Tzeentch, it is said "sacrifice a unit to...", so the sacrifice here is a cost, and even if your opponent play a tactic in response to kill the unit, it is already on the discard pile because you pay all costs before resolving the chain actions.

So, your opponent cannot play his kill in response because the unit he wants to kill is already sacrificed.

Really? I thought the cost was just the number of the top and the text of the card ALWAYS happened when it resolved...

To be honest, I was pretty sure the unit could be killed, the question was if the guy playing Blessings could re-target to another unit and if so, if it was his choice to do it or he was forced to.

But it´s kind of strange that while all cards wait until they are resolved to take effect, this card gets half of his effect before it´s resolved and half when it is resolved...

The cost on the top of the card is the cost of the card, not the cost of the effect.

When a card says "Action : pay X resources to...", the "pay X resources" is a cost, and must be paid in order to trigger the effect. Once paid, you can play effects in response, but you cannot prevent that effect to be triggered. "Sacrifice a unit to" is a cost ,"Corrupt this unit to" is a cost too.

Budmilka_fr said:

The cost on the top of the card is the cost of the card, not the cost of the effect.

When a card says "Action : pay X resources to...", the "pay X resources" is a cost, and must be paid in order to trigger the effect. Once paid, you can play effects in response, but you cannot prevent that effect to be triggered. "Sacrifice a unit to" is a cost ,"Corrupt this unit to" is a cost too.

This is correct.

However, Blessings of Tzeentch doesn't say "Action: Sacrifice a unit to ...". It should read, according to the FAQ: "Action: Sacrifice a unit. If you do, you may ..."

So I'd say here the sacrifice isn't part of the cost. And while the other player can in response destroy the unit you planned on sacrificing, you actually chose the unit when Blessings resolves, and can just pick another, as long as you have one.

I didn't know Blessing was errated.

So yes, you can kill the unit before he sacrifices itself, and if there is no other units left to sacrifice, then the tactic is lost.

Moreover you do not have to "target" a unit when playing BoT, so you do no have to announce the unit you want to sacrifice before resolving the action.

You play BoT and then during resolution, you chose a unit to sacrifice.

@Bud : BoT has never been erated, the sacrifice has simply just never be a part of the cost, the wording of the card has never been "sacrifice a unit to..."

Cards in the same case :

http://deckbox.org/whi/Blessings%20of%20Tzeentch

http://deckbox.org/whi/Brutal%20Offering

http://deckbox.org/whi/Lash%20the%20Prisoner!

http://deckbox.org/whi/Offering%20of%20Blood

Shindu, in another post you said

any target of an action must be chosen when playing the action. (clarified in the 1.5 FAQ)

That sounds like then, you must choose the target for this action as well. And then, if the target is dead, the effect fuzzles

There is no target for those actions, cf. my last message, the wording is "sacrifice a unit." not "sacrifice a target unit.". So you do not have to chose a target when playing those cards. And as the sacrifice is not a part of the cost, because the wording is not "sacrifice a unit to do Y", you do not have to chose the unit that you want to sacrifice when you play this card.

Hum... I guess it makes sense that way.

Thanks ;)

By the way, when you sacrifice a unit, it is never said "target", because sacrifice is absolute, and cannot be cancelled.