I have problems understanding their differences, mostly because one of them charge power first, and the other do it after casting. Also, does the curry favor and channeling power actions are mandatory for casting? Lets say i have an equiñibrium of 4 and, i want to cast a spell of 3 power, can i do it right away, or do i need to channel power even if i have the power already? Also, when channeling power, if i have 5 succeses, should i take all the power that it generates, or can i select to have less than the power generated by the roll, so i dont generate too mcuh power? Thanks to all for the help
Help for understanding the wizard/priest cast mechanic?
dosan said:
I have problems understanding their differences, mostly because one of them charge power first, and the other do it after casting.
Wizards Channel Power before playing a spell, while Priests can only Curry Favour after they successfully invoke a blessing and they have less favour then the blessing requires.
Also, does the curry favor and channeling power actions are mandatory for casting?
No, (in most cases) they aren't.
Lets say i have an equiñibrium of 4 and, i want to cast a spell of 3 power, can i do it right away, or do i need to channel power even if i have the power already?
You can cast it right away. Don't need to Channel Power in this case.
Also, when channeling power, if i have 5 succeses, should i take all the power that it generates, or can i select to have less than the power generated by the roll, so i dont generate too mcuh power?
A Wizard can select from any of the success lines, provided that he generates enough success symbols, just like everybody. He may also choose to spend boons, if he wishes.
Cheers
Thanks for the answer! Just one doubt concerning your last answer: If i let say, have 5 succeses in my roll for channeling power, can i only use 1 of that succeses, and dont claim at all the other 4? I ask this becausei want to know if i can select how much power I keep, or if i need to keep all the power I generate thanks to a good roll, even if it is more than what i want. Sorry if i didnt get it in the first time, just want to get it right
dosan said:
Just one doubt concerning your last answer: If i let say, have 5 succeses in my roll for channeling power, can i only use 1 of that succeses, and dont claim at all the other 4?
It's up to you which success line you will choose to trigger. So, yes, you can use 1 success symbol instead of 4, if you want to.
Hope that helps!
Armoks said:
dosan said:
Just one doubt concerning your last answer: If i let say, have 5 succeses in my roll for channeling power, can i only use 1 of that succeses, and dont claim at all the other 4?
It's up to you which success line you will choose to trigger. So, yes, you can use 1 success symbol instead of 4, if you want to.
Hope that helps!
I disagree here... while you can pick whatever positive effect you want, you still have to use all successes as possible.
This is why reckless channelling is more dangerous than conservative.
Spivo said:
(...) you still have to use all successes as possible.
You are incorrect, there is no such rule in the Rulebook
Wizards have to use all successes as possible only when dealing with Warpstone. That's why Wizards are able to avoid a Chaos Star effect on the Channeling Power action card.
Cheers!
Armoks said:
Spivo said:
(...) you still have to use all successes as possible.
You are incorrect, there is no such rule in the Rulebook
Wizards have to use all successes as possible only when dealing with Warpstone. That's why Wizards are able to avoid a Chaos Star effect on the Channeling Power action card.
Cheers!
Errata & Rules FAQ page 2, last part: "For example, on an action with both... at least three successes" says you in fact can chose, so you're right
Not sure what you mean with the Chaos Star though, but havn't got the rulebook with me right now...
Spivo said:
Not sure what you mean with the Chaos Star though, but havn't got the rulebook with me right now...
Channel Power:
[Chaos Star] At the end of your turn, lose all power in excess of your WP (Reckless) / twice your WP (Conservative) and suffer 1 stress per power lost this way.
I mean that a canny Wizard can avoid losing power and suffering stress by simply choosing to generate less power when Channeling, thereby making the Chaos Star a bit ineffective
Cheers
Spivo, i read the faq, and although it gives an example of using the succeses lines, i dont find that it says that you can let extra succesess go wothout using them. Although even if it said that, i definetely will not allow it. If one can carefully select how much amount of power can channel, then a overbleed of power will almost never happen, since it will be better to channel all the time at minimum, using just the enough power, and then channelling again the next turn, even with a purple dice for doing it hastly.